Thursday, December 18, 2025

Down from almost 300 lbs, how can I get to a healthy weight for the first time in my life, considering the fact that I pretty much can't exercise because of chronic pain

M, 18, 5ft 8in. Down from like 290 at peak, to now at 210. I didn't really take weight loss seriously until I got news that I was on my way to a messed up liver. I've been on several medications, currently on phentermine, aiming to get back on semaglutide or tirzepatide if insurance approves. I've lost this much weight because of the fact I don't binge anymore, or at least not as much. It's as much of a physical battle as it is a mental one. I used food to cope with (at the time) undiagnosed PTSD. Now that I'm handling that in therapy, how can I better focus on losing the ~50-70 lbs that I need to be at a healthy weight, considering that I cant really exercise due to pain (yes ive tried PT)? The only real exercise ive gotten that didnt end with me bedbound for like 3 days was aquatics, and sadly I dont have access to a pool, i technically have river access but its freezing cold for like 90% of the year, and frozen for like 50% of that. Any tips? Anyone else have a similar experience?

submitted by /u/saucythrowaway6969
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/H3fLZM7

Wednesday, December 17, 2025

Finding the right "diet"

Hello,

I am 30 year old male, 185cm, 107kg.

I am planning on starting my 16256th weight journey.

I usually start very morivated, but a few months in the gym and I lose interest.

I've tried doing some sports, but timing is a bir of an issue.

Anyway, I will figure that one out.

I've tried doing Keto 6-7 years ago(right when Covid hit), and lost about 9kg without working out or feeling hungry.

That felt very easy, until the moment I just stopped doing it and the yo-yo effect hit me.

Before that I've never been over 98kg in my worst period, managed to get down to 90kg with keto.

I now can barely get under 100kg and thats with loads of workout and calorie counting.

Best sex I've ever had was during Keto by the way, not sure if that had anything to do with it.

I am always in the edge of trying Keto again, but am worried that the same thing will happen when I stop and push me even higher.

Is calorie counting the easiest/most consistent method for weight loss?

I hate having to record everything, but it did work last time, managed to get down to 99kg for my wedding.

I get it that I am also not 25 anymore and my metabolism is not the same, so what can I do better this time with my weight loss journey?

So as much as I want to try

submitted by /u/Advanced_Volume_4500
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/48FoxBb

Job loss is triggering my anxiety and depression and I’m stress eating

basically the title.

I recently lost my job (part of company-wide layoffs in the first week of December) and I’m actively trying to interview and find a new role. However, job postings are very few since we’re heading into the holidays. My resume is getting no traction and I haven’t had any interview callbacks.

My anxiety and depression is spiking. And I’m finding myself stress-eating. Food has always been a source of comfort to me and I keep reaching for carbs and unhealthy treats quite frequently.

I’ve worked very hard this year in trying to eat healthy, workout more. I’ve lost 7 Kgs in the past 5 months (I know that is not a lot but it made me feel good).

But with the job loss, I’ve also lost my motivation to workout. I’m stressed about landing a new job quickly and spend all my time trying to apply for jobs or prepare for my (non-existent) interviews. I’m stressed and making poor choices all around.

I don’t even know why I’m rambling here. But I’m just sad about it all.

(Mods- I know my post is not really related to weight loss. If it breaks any subreddit rules, I’m sorry. I’ll take it down)

submitted by /u/curiousgem19
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/duPY3j1

Down 12kgs in 7 months!!! | F29, 160cm, SW: 111.9kg, CW: 99.3kg, GW: 63kg

This May I picked up my weight loss journey again after completely losing the plot for about 1.5 years. Before that I’d lost 10 kg, but gained it all back unfortunately during this period. I have NEVER been at a healthy weight my whole life, been always obese.

About 7 months ago I decided that I’ve had enough. After talking to my doctor, I got started on Mysimba and joined a lifestyle intervention program (GLI for my fellow Dutchies).

I started at 111.9 kg (in May) and this morning I weighed in at 99.3 kg!!! I honestly don’t remember the last time I was under 100. My life looks totally different compared to last year: I’m eating healthy for the first time in my life, strength training 3x a week (and actually loving it), feeling more confident, and just doing better overall.

The medication gave me the push I needed, but everything else has been me. I’ve stayed consistent without being hard on myself and built habits that feel sustainable. I still have a long way to go (goal is 63 kg), but I wanted to share and celebrate this milestone 🥳🥰

submitted by /u/magicsloth13
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/VoHUcI1

Feeling frustrated by the process, any advice?

Im 5’4” and weight 128 lbs. I want to lose 5-8 lbs I think I look the best at 120-ish. I lost the weight earlier this year by gradually increasing my calorie deficit and eventually got down to 120 lbs but I really didn’t start seeing any weight loss until I was at ~1,400 calories a day. I work out 4-6 times a week and eat healthy. I started feeling really run down though and had some health issues so I went back to eating 1,900-2,000 calories a day and my weight slowly went back up to 128. About three months ago I started doing a smaller deficit, at 1,700 calories a day but it’s made no change and I’ve just remained at 128 for about five months now.

I don’t have it in me again to go back down to 1,400 calories it felt like so little food. Is my TDEE really ~1,700 calories even with strength training and working out everyday? Im tracking all my food by weighing it out. Am I just destined to be this size and never be able to lean out? Why is this so hard??? I’m feeling so frustrated.

Can anyone relate? Any advice? Does stress and cortisol really matter, could I just be overthinking it and stressed out? I don’t know what else to do.

submitted by /u/Turbulent-Cap2896
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/9J53R2Y

Tuesday, December 16, 2025

How do you manage the cost of changing clothes?

I've lost a little over 20 lbs lately and I continue to lose. I started at 180 and I'm now at 158, I plan to stay at maintenance for a while when I reach 150. Overall, it's going well I'm very happy with my weight loss success.

That said, my weight loss is taking a tole on my wardrobe.I am a sewist, so I can hem, adjust and dye a lot of my clothes. I've been doing it for many years. But I can't adjust everything as I don't have the skill or the time.

I had to change winter coat, as I was getting lost in my previous one. I had to change all of my undearwear. And now, my gym gear is slipping off my back too. I can't adjust gym gear. Gym bras cost almost as much as regular bras. I train 6 days a week, often twice a day. I need a lot of gear.

For those who went thought change in sizing, how did you manage to get new clothes without costing you an arm and a leg?

submitted by /u/DataFaerie
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/3H2hKAk

1 year down and still not seeing the progress I want.

I’ll keep this short. I started in January of this year wanting to start my weight loss. I started at 200 pounds. By July I finally hit 160lbs. I haven’t really been able to go lower but I understand the number on the scale isn’t the defining factor. Muscle growth and weight counts too so whatever. But I’ve followed all the best advice I could find. I’ve been consistent in the gym anywhere from 5-7 days a week. I’ve stayed in a calorie deficit (gone back up to maintenance a few times when metabolism catches up) the whole time and I’ve been eating clean. No fast food, no friends food, most of my protein comes from chicken and tuna. I even had 3 months where I was running 5k every other day and started to hit sub 22 minutes until I got a lung disease and that set me back. I’ve been targeting chest, arms, and core this whole time. Chest grew, arms grew, core hasn’t changed. My waist went down only 1/2 cm. What am I doing wrong? I know belly fat is typically last to go but shouldn’t there be more of a difference after a year. When I went to the doctor she told me my “good cholesterol” was too high and I needed to exercise more :(. Any ideas why I might be having a hard time?

submitted by /u/Andyrdrgzd
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/FiJTBgb