Monday, March 23, 2026

Help Me - struggling with weight loss

Hey guys,

So to give context I’ve spent years of trying various different methods of losing weight.

I’m not massively overweight, I’m fairly muscled around the top of my body but my stomach goes through crazy loops of varying size with bloating. I have the love handle man build so yeah it’s always been a stubborn area for me.

But the scales, man they never ever move from 88-90kg.

I’ve recently done very strict calorie counting. I’ve been keeping under 2000kcal per day (usually around 1800) whilst also exercising daily whether it be a run, a walk or going to gym.

Typical diet is porridge morning with protein, eggs, ostrich and potatoes for lunch then lean meat and veg go dinner. I’ll also have a protein bar.

I only drink water, I rarely have sugary foods and rarely have takeaways and rarely drink alcohol.

I’ve maintained this for over 3 months and I’m still the same weight.

What’s really annoying about this is I went to Australia recently and averaged 20,000 steps a day for 2.5 weeks - I wasn’t eating anymore than usual so I figured I should 10000% have shed some weight.

I really don’t know where I’m going wrong here. Honestly I’ve tried all sorts for over 5-10 years I just can’t seem to break it.

I really want to get to around 15% body fat (I’m around 22-24% I think.

Any tips here, has anyone had a similar struggle? Can you see anything wrong with my diet? Could I possibly be under eating with exercise?

submitted by /u/Free-Lifeguard1064
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/2kpQJwj

Sunday, March 22, 2026

One Week Down

This is essentially my day 1 post. I am starting my weight loss journey again. Throughout my life I have gained and lost hundreds of pounds.

When I was young I was overweight. When I got into high school I got taller, started working out, and got fairly fit. After freshman year of college I was very fit and sitting at 185 pounds. Then stress, life, and other health issues got to me and I gained weight. I got up to around 250. I managed to get back in shape and got down to 195 and built up more muscle. But the cycle continued, more problems in my life meant I stopped prioritizing my health and my diet. I gained 100 lbs. I got up to 280. And so I tried to do what I've done before but the issue now is I can't seem to succeed. I get down to ~250 and then gain back to 280. I've lost those same 30 lbs around 3 times now.

Well, I'm back at it. This time though I am trying to make it different. I want it to stick.

I am trying to combine everything I've learned from my previous success and failure.

  1. High Fiber, High Protein is what has worked best for me. My focus is on hitting 120g protein and 40g fiber (Some people will say this is low but for now I think it's sufficient).

  2. focus on breaking my bad relationship with food. Food is not therapy. Food is not stress relief. Food is not the solution. Good nutrition is stress relief. Good nutrition is therapeutic. Good nutrition is the solution. In the past I would turn to comfort foods like Rice and Sausage, Noodles, Rice and Fried eggs, etc. And I would eat those in excess since they'd leave me feeling hungry. Now my focus is on ensuring I am hitting my macros while keeping portions reasonable.

  3. focus on one habit at a time. My past failures have been, in part, due to rushing. I'd try to do everything like I used to when I was at peak fitness. Eating a very different diet and working out 5 days a week. Jumping into the deep end isn't sustainable and after 3 months I am completely burnt out. My first goal is to focus on fixing my diet. Build the habits I need to support healthy eating. IE reduced snacking, better snack choices, focus on whole foods. After that becomes less of a chore I will look to becoming more active. My intent is to just try walking 30min every other day to start.

  4. Reframe my journey as a lifestyle change. I'm not doing this to lose weight and go back to how I was. I am doing this to build habits that will sustain me throughout the remainder of my life. This will be critical in breaking the cycle of gaining and losing.

  5. I'm still thinking this one through but I want to figure out habits stacking. If I think back to when I was most successful my life had more structure and routine. I need to build that back into my life to make the things that require so much effort now be effortless in the future. I don't know what this looks like right now but I'm thinking about it.

I'm posting today because I just feel like getting it out there might help. I'd like to become another one of the success stories I've seen here. Here's to attempt number 7, 8? let's make this the one that sticks.

submitted by /u/Dependent_Title_1370
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/FfvoL2s

Coffee and other drinks

I am having a bit of a dilemma. I know some will say caffein is not good for weight loss but considering how much I have given up already I really don‘t want to give up my emotional support bean juice.

Every day I have two cups. I have always had it the same way with a little sugar and cream. That is adding about 100-140 calories to my day and I am trying to crunch down on my numbers.

I also really like a good coconut water or the like for hydration. This one isn’t too bad since you can get them under 100, but still calories from drinks feels like sinning when trying to lose.

What are y’all doing for coffee? Black? What kind of coffee do you drink that tastes okay black? Did you find a magic unicorn creamer or diy one? Do you have any hydration drinks for a boost when needed that are not breaking the calorie bank?

submitted by /u/Fickle_Physics_
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/tOscNK9

Saturday, March 21, 2026

I (m17) feel stuck

I (m17) am stuck at around 280 pounds, 5’11-6’0. I truly dislike almost everything about my body. My stature does not match my personality whatsoever. I know that I should not feel bad for how I look, but I can’t stand the fake smiles anymore.

I truly feel like a failure. I am one of the largest people in my class. I am incredibly self conscious and think about how I look almost every second of the day. I have been losing weight for around 9 months now and have only lost around 30 pounds.

I have hit several plateaus throughout my weight loss journey, now being one of them. I don’t often participate in may activities as I am a quieter type of person. I likely do not get enough steps in everyday.

My family does not necessarily try to support me in losing weight, often buying fast food or sweets. My body has been under stress for the past 7 months or so, primarily from school and mental health related issues.

I was wondering if not eating could help me lose weight as I feel worse about food with each and every day that passes, even nutritious food. Is there a healthy way to not eat? What would be the minimum amount of food I could eat?

submitted by /u/Gloomy-Intention4698
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/34JVstZ

Seeking advice on weight loss and living a sustainable lifestyle

Hi!! I’m a 24M, 5’11”, 365 lb guy who’s trying to lose weight over time, eventually reach a healthy weight, and live a healthy and sustainable lifestyle. I’m hoping some people here might be able to give some advice on what they’d recommend.

I’ve decided to make big changes to my lifestyle in an effort to finally be at a healthy weight (I’ve pretty much always been either overweight or obese). I’ve started tracking calories, remaining at or under 2000 daily calorie intake, doing cardio (incline walking 40 min) 5 days per week, and strength training 3x per week. I also walk to school Monday-Thursday which is a 12.5 minute walk one way.

Since I started this lifestyle change in late January, I’ve lost 28 lbs from an initial starting weight of 392 lbs!! I’m super happy about this and it’s motivating me even more to continue with this journey. However, I’m concerned about my future and how I can maintain a healthy lifestyle with sufficient exercise/movement.

I’m a law student, and I plan to become a lawyer, which means I’ll have an office/desk job. I’ve read that this makes people become sedentary, and I don’t ever want to go back to having an unhealthy lifestyle.

I’m also worried about loose skin — since I’ve been obese for so long, I’m afraid I’ll have a really ugly body even after losing all the weight.

If anyone has any tips on these things, any advice at all, I’d be super appreciative of it!! I could use some help since I’m basically doing it all on my own, and the encouragement/advice from people in the same boat or who have completed their weight loss journey would really benefit me!!

submitted by /u/59sound1120
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/WN6V1Ik

Quell app 2026 Review?

Hey guys, I’ve been looking into Quell the satiety app and before I commit to spending time for it I wanted to see if anyone here has actually used it, especially for weight loss.

From what I understand the whole idea is focusing more on satiety instead of just calories, like tracking how filling your meals are or how long they keep you full. That honestly sounds really appealing to me because every time I try doing a calorie deficit I just get way too hungry and it turns into me bingeing later 😭

I’ve seen people say it helps you pick foods with better satiety so you can stay in a deficit without feeling like you’re starving all the time, which sounds nice but also kinda too good to be true lol.

I guess I’m just wonderingdoes it actually help with hunger or bingeing

is it better than normal calorie tracking apps

and does the satiety thing actually feel accurate or kinda gimmicky

For context I’m 24F, 5’4 and around 149 lbs. My issue isn’t really tracking, it’s more that I get too hungry and then fall off.

Would really appreciate hearing any real experiences before I spend effort on it 🙏

submitted by /u/arisotly
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/rZ576ak

Friday, March 20, 2026

Day 4: here's what I'm doing

Hey everyone. I'm starting another weight loss journey. I managed to lose about 25 pounds years ago over tge span of a few months and slowly gained it back due to new chronic illness. I'm 5'6 around 160lbs, 35F. Goal weight is around 130. Scale arrives in a few days. I haven't been weighed in a while, but my pants are tighter than I'd like them to be.

I'm doing a whole food, plant based diet. It's worked really well for me in the past, I can eat basically unlimited quantities of foods, and I enjoy trying new recipes. I'm also doing low histamine, which sucks but whatever.

The benefits of this way of eating:

Anti-inflammatory, never hungry, can eat large volumes of food, can be as simple or complex as I want, no calorie counting, no weighing my food, intuitive style of eating, still get to have dessert and snacks, extremely effective for weight loss, has other health effects (such as helping to manage blood sugars, reduce cholesterol, and reverse heart disease).

The drawbacks:

Requires more cooking because I'm not using much pre-packaged stuff, low/ no junk food or animal products (I'm already vegan, so that's not an issue for me, but I love chips).

What I've been eating:

Big salads with delicious sauces. Cereal. Soups (heavy on beans and veggies). Roasted potatoes/veg with creamy garlic sauce. Green smoothies. Popcorn. Blueberry crumble with homemade ice cream. Stir fry. Occasional yellow curry.

The general gist of what I'm eating:

Unlimited fruits, veggies, beans, with some whole grains and nuts/ seeds. No oil. 90% unprocessed plant foods, 10% wiggle room (I use this for my 1 cup of coffee with creamer snd occasionally chips/ dining out).

Why it works:

Plants are low in calorie density and full of fiber, both of which keep you full, blunt hunger cues, and give your body the macro and micronutrients they need.

So yeah, that's what I'm doing in case anyone is interested. My scale hasn't arrived yet, but I already feel a bit lighter. I can't exercise because of MECFS, so diet is the only way for me.

If anyone wants resources, check out:

Forks over Knives (documentary, website, and book),

How Not to Diet by Dr. Michael Greger (the best book on weight loss I've ever read, with like 5000 scientific references)

How Not to Die (documentary and book by Dr. Michael Greger. Doc is on youtube).

Long post, but I hope this information can help someone else.

submitted by /u/plantyplant559
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/bRFM3h7