Tuesday, January 6, 2026

Losing weight as a short woman

Fellow short women, what is your experience with weight loss?

I am 5' 2" and started out at 133lbs in November of 2024. I am now at 119lbs, so I am averaging around a pound a month. I've noticed a trend where I will lose three-ish pounds in a short period of time (two weeks or so), but then my weight stagnates for couple of months before shedding another seemingly random three pounds. Is that normal?

I am a fulltime student and have a remote job, so my lifestyle is naturally sedentary but I still manage to get over 10k steps in a day. As far as calorie intake, I average around 1,200. I am a vegetarian, so I almost exclusively eat whole foods (not that there aren't vegetarians that eat junk food, there are plenty that do). I mostly eat vegetables, fruits, tofu, eggs, beans, nuts, and other simple stuff like that.

I know smaller people lose weight slower, but I can't help but feel like my progress is slower than what it should be. I'd like to reach around 110lbs by June. Does anybody have any tips on how I can reach my goal? I'd also like to hear experiences from women who are in a similar boat. Thanks!

submitted by /u/sumthingstewpid
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/3Tuelo2

★OFFICIAL WEEKLY★ Tantrum Tuesday: Share your complaints, vents and gripes January 06, 2026

I Rant, Therefore I Am

​Well bla-de-da-da! What's making your blood boil? What's under your skin? What's making you see red? What's up in your craw? Let's hear your weight loss related rants!

Please consider saving your next rant for this weekly thread every Tuesday.

Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it using the sidebar if needed.

Don't forget to comment and interact with other posters here, let's keep the good vibes going!

Daily Threads

Weekly Threads

submitted by /u/AutoModerator
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/ZsodP3E

Monday, January 5, 2026

29F – Want to lean out & lose body fat sustainably (ED history, want to preserve muscle). Looking for advice.

Hi everyone,

I’d really appreciate advice on how to approach fat loss in a healthy, sustainable, long-term way. I’ve included detail so you have the full picture.

Stats & background:

  • Age: 29
  • Sex: Female
  • Height: 167 cm
  • Weight: ~70 kg
  • Body type: Hourglass
  • Goal: Lose body fat / lean out while maintaining as much muscle as possible
  • I build muscle relatively easily but often feel like I “bulk” instead of leaning out

I’ve attached a photo of where I’m at now. https://imgur.com/a/current-photos-PfVP0FE

Important context:
I’ve added comparison photos from 2021 (~59 kg), when I felt more comfortable with my body. https://imgur.com/a/old-photos-UNmWjFO

That was the result of severe depression and undereating (often not eating all day, then having a bag of chips). I was unhealthy, had little muscle mass, and didn’t feel good overall.

I do not want to recreate that situation or exact look. I understand I was thinner due to lack of food, not fitness. That said, I’d like to move toward a similar level of leanness—this time with muscle, health, and sustainability.

I estimate I may have ~10 kg of body fat to lose.

Training & activity (since 2023):

  • Gym: 2–3x/week (with some breaks due to travel/sickness)
    • Lower body: 1x/week
    • Upper body: 2x/week
    • Mostly machines
    • 20 min incline treadmill after workouts
  • Running: 1–2x/week, ~30–45 min / ~5k
    • For cardio, fitness, and mental health (not expecting weight loss from it)
  • Walking: ~1 hour, ~3x/week
  • Water: 2–3 L/day

Energy expenditure (Fitbit estimates):

  • ~1900 kcal on inactive days
  • Up to ~2300 kcal on active days

Nutrition approach & challenges:

  • I don’t currently track calories consistently
  • I have a history of an eating disorder, and calorie tracking can backfire mentally for me (I stop listening to hunger cues)
  • I understand CICO and am open to careful tracking if that’s the best option

Main challenges:

  • Portion control
  • Feeling full/satisfied, especially in the evening
  • Some emotional eating
  • Craving salty snacks

Typical diet:

  • Breakfast:
    • Oatmeal with protein powder, berries, flaxseeds or fried egg, bread with butter & cheese, veggies
  • Lunch:
    • Salad with beans for protein
  • Dinner (largest meal):
    • Cook with my partner
    • Mix of whole foods and comfort meals
    • Examples: chicken legs or breaded fish fillets with potatoes & veggies, chili con carne, wraps, homemade pizza, weekly takeout burgers

Snacking:

  • Not excessive, but I crave something almost daily
  • Strong preference for salty snacks (chips)
  • I usually allow a small bowl ~2x/week since full restriction backfires
  • Open to suggestions

What I’m looking for:

  • How would you approach fat loss in my situation?
  • Should I prioritize:
    • Slight calorie tracking (and if so, what range)?
    • Protein/macros?
    • Adjusting training volume or intensity?
    • Increasing NEAT/steps (within realistic time limits)?
  • Advice for people who build muscle easily but want to lean out, not bulk
  • Tips for portion control & satiety without triggering old ED patterns

My goal is a loving, realistic, effective approach—something I can sustain long-term while still enjoying life.

submitted by /u/Able-String-835
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/XySZ25e

Sunday, January 4, 2026

Does anyone else have a sudden shrink in ones face?

Went from 276 to 225 pounds, 6'0 male here. I've been really, really proud of how far I've come. A weird thing I've noticed is that my face was still kinda chubby, but then suddenly what I think was a few days or maybe a week, I just looked so much skinnier. It just felt weird because one day I just woke up and noticed my face was a lot slimmer.

I was browsing through Reddit and noticed comments of people saying their last 5-10 pounds of weight has been the most drastic change, or known as the "paper towel effect." While I definitely have many more pounds to shed to see bigger results, especially in my stomach, did anybody else notice this for them? Even during the mid-stages of weight loss?

submitted by /u/wdfcvyhn134ert
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/1GHvzmg

How do you maintain weight loss?

Okay i have a few questions

  1. Can you lose weight without exercising? Like just not eating as much or walking

  2. If you lose weight by exercising do you have to continue exercising to maintain it? Or can you just exercise until you lose x amount and then stop

  3. How do you maintain weight loss, do you just have to eat less forever or work out a certain amount forever?

Im 5’7 135-140 and id like to be closer to 120 because my stomach holds a lot of weight but I dont really have the time to work out in a gym or anything and if I were able to i’m not sure i would be able yo maintain it.

submitted by /u/spottyjellyfish
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/6YPNfTF

40 years later - this time it will work

Posting for accountability but also for some blunt honesty with myself and would love feedback / tips / all of it.

I was raised on fad diets in the 70s/80s. My mom during my life was a 10-16 size, gym teacher, and nutritionist who missed her size 6 self and yo yo dieted until she was 70 and got bariatric surgery (which is a whole other thing). But pick a fad diet and I tried it.

I was an active kid on the chubby side but not extended clothes sizing. Water skiing, swimming, dance class, aerobics videos, weightlifting, cross country running, gymnastics for fun - you name it I probably loved it. Growing up in and around gyms didn’t hurt. Get bored - play on the parallel bars. It was all still just play. We ate… ok. Everything was microwaved. Lots of diet soda and processed food. My parents are ice cream every night. Portions were… Midwestern.

When I started college I had a cafeteria plan and 1000% less activity even though I walked / biked everywhere and had some dance classes. And I gained 120lbs. And then the next summer I went on birth control - and gained another 50.

Since then (1993?) I’ve been mostly within 20lbs above to below the 300 mark. There was a moment in the early / mid 2000s where I did Atkins for 3 years (and lived in a 4th floor walk up) and lost 120lbs. But the depression from nutritional gaps was real. So I tried to go back to more balanced eating and … within about 3 years… back to the 300 line.

My wife, my friends are all naturally thin people. We have a pretty active life - I’m 5000 steps a day on average during the work week and 8-10k on the weekends.

Now I’m in my early 50s and my body is unhappy about carrying this weight. I seem to tweak / injure my knee about 2x a year, my ankles constantly give me pain, my back always hurts, and I find myself begging off of fun things I used to love because I’m worried about pain or injury.

I have the shoe inserts and compression socks which help but damn.

So about a month ago I joined the gym. Have made it in 1-4x a week since. I’m trying to figure out how to enable my friends to help. I don’t want to be whiny or seem weak but also - I don’t want this to kill me or impair my mobility. I love to travel, dance, perform on stage (I’m a musician), walk everywhere - and right now carrying this weight is hurting my quality of life so much. I want to let it go.

Somehow this feels different than other years. I don’t want it to be just another fad diet like when I was a kid.

I tried ozembic a few years ago but stopped it b/c I was afraid of the blindness side effect. I tried metformin but couldn’t tolerate the side effects (and it didn’t help much). I tried one of the speedier weight loss drugs and ended up in afib. Contrave wasn’t impactful. I’m asking my dr re monjauro when she is back from vacation.

This journey feels so hard and also - I’m ready to start it. Not for vanity but for longevity. Every day is a choice. Wish me luck!

What have you found helpful for your friends / spouses to do to support your journey? I want to ask for help but… what can they do when the choices are all mine ?

submitted by /u/Any-Industry-6594
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/2IwtnSZ

Saturday, January 3, 2026

Constantly being cold after weight loss?

Hi,

after giving birth 7 weeks ago I am now trying to lose my pregnancy weight and possibly 20-30kg on top of that.

I‘ve read up on common things people experience after losing weight, and the most frequent thing I read was that you’re basically going to feel cold constantly. Right now, I’m already freezing almost all the time because of hormonal changes and it‘s awful - granted, it’s probably much better than being obese, but still.

Is this true? Is there any way to prevent it? I‘d be delighted to hear about your experiences.

submitted by /u/p3riphery
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/OlBWthI