Monday, March 23, 2026

Help Me - struggling with weight loss

Hey guys,

So to give context I’ve spent years of trying various different methods of losing weight.

I’m not massively overweight, I’m fairly muscled around the top of my body but my stomach goes through crazy loops of varying size with bloating. I have the love handle man build so yeah it’s always been a stubborn area for me.

But the scales, man they never ever move from 88-90kg.

I’ve recently done very strict calorie counting. I’ve been keeping under 2000kcal per day (usually around 1800) whilst also exercising daily whether it be a run, a walk or going to gym.

Typical diet is porridge morning with protein, eggs, ostrich and potatoes for lunch then lean meat and veg go dinner. I’ll also have a protein bar.

I only drink water, I rarely have sugary foods and rarely have takeaways and rarely drink alcohol.

I’ve maintained this for over 3 months and I’m still the same weight.

What’s really annoying about this is I went to Australia recently and averaged 20,000 steps a day for 2.5 weeks - I wasn’t eating anymore than usual so I figured I should 10000% have shed some weight.

I really don’t know where I’m going wrong here. Honestly I’ve tried all sorts for over 5-10 years I just can’t seem to break it.

I really want to get to around 15% body fat (I’m around 22-24% I think.

Any tips here, has anyone had a similar struggle? Can you see anything wrong with my diet? Could I possibly be under eating with exercise?

submitted by /u/Free-Lifeguard1064
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/2kpQJwj

Sunday, March 22, 2026

One Week Down

This is essentially my day 1 post. I am starting my weight loss journey again. Throughout my life I have gained and lost hundreds of pounds.

When I was young I was overweight. When I got into high school I got taller, started working out, and got fairly fit. After freshman year of college I was very fit and sitting at 185 pounds. Then stress, life, and other health issues got to me and I gained weight. I got up to around 250. I managed to get back in shape and got down to 195 and built up more muscle. But the cycle continued, more problems in my life meant I stopped prioritizing my health and my diet. I gained 100 lbs. I got up to 280. And so I tried to do what I've done before but the issue now is I can't seem to succeed. I get down to ~250 and then gain back to 280. I've lost those same 30 lbs around 3 times now.

Well, I'm back at it. This time though I am trying to make it different. I want it to stick.

I am trying to combine everything I've learned from my previous success and failure.

  1. High Fiber, High Protein is what has worked best for me. My focus is on hitting 120g protein and 40g fiber (Some people will say this is low but for now I think it's sufficient).

  2. focus on breaking my bad relationship with food. Food is not therapy. Food is not stress relief. Food is not the solution. Good nutrition is stress relief. Good nutrition is therapeutic. Good nutrition is the solution. In the past I would turn to comfort foods like Rice and Sausage, Noodles, Rice and Fried eggs, etc. And I would eat those in excess since they'd leave me feeling hungry. Now my focus is on ensuring I am hitting my macros while keeping portions reasonable.

  3. focus on one habit at a time. My past failures have been, in part, due to rushing. I'd try to do everything like I used to when I was at peak fitness. Eating a very different diet and working out 5 days a week. Jumping into the deep end isn't sustainable and after 3 months I am completely burnt out. My first goal is to focus on fixing my diet. Build the habits I need to support healthy eating. IE reduced snacking, better snack choices, focus on whole foods. After that becomes less of a chore I will look to becoming more active. My intent is to just try walking 30min every other day to start.

  4. Reframe my journey as a lifestyle change. I'm not doing this to lose weight and go back to how I was. I am doing this to build habits that will sustain me throughout the remainder of my life. This will be critical in breaking the cycle of gaining and losing.

  5. I'm still thinking this one through but I want to figure out habits stacking. If I think back to when I was most successful my life had more structure and routine. I need to build that back into my life to make the things that require so much effort now be effortless in the future. I don't know what this looks like right now but I'm thinking about it.

I'm posting today because I just feel like getting it out there might help. I'd like to become another one of the success stories I've seen here. Here's to attempt number 7, 8? let's make this the one that sticks.

submitted by /u/Dependent_Title_1370
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/FfvoL2s

Coffee and other drinks

I am having a bit of a dilemma. I know some will say caffein is not good for weight loss but considering how much I have given up already I really don‘t want to give up my emotional support bean juice.

Every day I have two cups. I have always had it the same way with a little sugar and cream. That is adding about 100-140 calories to my day and I am trying to crunch down on my numbers.

I also really like a good coconut water or the like for hydration. This one isn’t too bad since you can get them under 100, but still calories from drinks feels like sinning when trying to lose.

What are y’all doing for coffee? Black? What kind of coffee do you drink that tastes okay black? Did you find a magic unicorn creamer or diy one? Do you have any hydration drinks for a boost when needed that are not breaking the calorie bank?

submitted by /u/Fickle_Physics_
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/tOscNK9

Saturday, March 21, 2026

I (m17) feel stuck

I (m17) am stuck at around 280 pounds, 5’11-6’0. I truly dislike almost everything about my body. My stature does not match my personality whatsoever. I know that I should not feel bad for how I look, but I can’t stand the fake smiles anymore.

I truly feel like a failure. I am one of the largest people in my class. I am incredibly self conscious and think about how I look almost every second of the day. I have been losing weight for around 9 months now and have only lost around 30 pounds.

I have hit several plateaus throughout my weight loss journey, now being one of them. I don’t often participate in may activities as I am a quieter type of person. I likely do not get enough steps in everyday.

My family does not necessarily try to support me in losing weight, often buying fast food or sweets. My body has been under stress for the past 7 months or so, primarily from school and mental health related issues.

I was wondering if not eating could help me lose weight as I feel worse about food with each and every day that passes, even nutritious food. Is there a healthy way to not eat? What would be the minimum amount of food I could eat?

submitted by /u/Gloomy-Intention4698
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/34JVstZ

Seeking advice on weight loss and living a sustainable lifestyle

Hi!! I’m a 24M, 5’11”, 365 lb guy who’s trying to lose weight over time, eventually reach a healthy weight, and live a healthy and sustainable lifestyle. I’m hoping some people here might be able to give some advice on what they’d recommend.

I’ve decided to make big changes to my lifestyle in an effort to finally be at a healthy weight (I’ve pretty much always been either overweight or obese). I’ve started tracking calories, remaining at or under 2000 daily calorie intake, doing cardio (incline walking 40 min) 5 days per week, and strength training 3x per week. I also walk to school Monday-Thursday which is a 12.5 minute walk one way.

Since I started this lifestyle change in late January, I’ve lost 28 lbs from an initial starting weight of 392 lbs!! I’m super happy about this and it’s motivating me even more to continue with this journey. However, I’m concerned about my future and how I can maintain a healthy lifestyle with sufficient exercise/movement.

I’m a law student, and I plan to become a lawyer, which means I’ll have an office/desk job. I’ve read that this makes people become sedentary, and I don’t ever want to go back to having an unhealthy lifestyle.

I’m also worried about loose skin — since I’ve been obese for so long, I’m afraid I’ll have a really ugly body even after losing all the weight.

If anyone has any tips on these things, any advice at all, I’d be super appreciative of it!! I could use some help since I’m basically doing it all on my own, and the encouragement/advice from people in the same boat or who have completed their weight loss journey would really benefit me!!

submitted by /u/59sound1120
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/WN6V1Ik

Quell app 2026 Review?

Hey guys, I’ve been looking into Quell the satiety app and before I commit to spending time for it I wanted to see if anyone here has actually used it, especially for weight loss.

From what I understand the whole idea is focusing more on satiety instead of just calories, like tracking how filling your meals are or how long they keep you full. That honestly sounds really appealing to me because every time I try doing a calorie deficit I just get way too hungry and it turns into me bingeing later 😭

I’ve seen people say it helps you pick foods with better satiety so you can stay in a deficit without feeling like you’re starving all the time, which sounds nice but also kinda too good to be true lol.

I guess I’m just wonderingdoes it actually help with hunger or bingeing

is it better than normal calorie tracking apps

and does the satiety thing actually feel accurate or kinda gimmicky

For context I’m 24F, 5’4 and around 149 lbs. My issue isn’t really tracking, it’s more that I get too hungry and then fall off.

Would really appreciate hearing any real experiences before I spend effort on it 🙏

submitted by /u/arisotly
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/rZ576ak

Friday, March 20, 2026

Day 4: here's what I'm doing

Hey everyone. I'm starting another weight loss journey. I managed to lose about 25 pounds years ago over tge span of a few months and slowly gained it back due to new chronic illness. I'm 5'6 around 160lbs, 35F. Goal weight is around 130. Scale arrives in a few days. I haven't been weighed in a while, but my pants are tighter than I'd like them to be.

I'm doing a whole food, plant based diet. It's worked really well for me in the past, I can eat basically unlimited quantities of foods, and I enjoy trying new recipes. I'm also doing low histamine, which sucks but whatever.

The benefits of this way of eating:

Anti-inflammatory, never hungry, can eat large volumes of food, can be as simple or complex as I want, no calorie counting, no weighing my food, intuitive style of eating, still get to have dessert and snacks, extremely effective for weight loss, has other health effects (such as helping to manage blood sugars, reduce cholesterol, and reverse heart disease).

The drawbacks:

Requires more cooking because I'm not using much pre-packaged stuff, low/ no junk food or animal products (I'm already vegan, so that's not an issue for me, but I love chips).

What I've been eating:

Big salads with delicious sauces. Cereal. Soups (heavy on beans and veggies). Roasted potatoes/veg with creamy garlic sauce. Green smoothies. Popcorn. Blueberry crumble with homemade ice cream. Stir fry. Occasional yellow curry.

The general gist of what I'm eating:

Unlimited fruits, veggies, beans, with some whole grains and nuts/ seeds. No oil. 90% unprocessed plant foods, 10% wiggle room (I use this for my 1 cup of coffee with creamer snd occasionally chips/ dining out).

Why it works:

Plants are low in calorie density and full of fiber, both of which keep you full, blunt hunger cues, and give your body the macro and micronutrients they need.

So yeah, that's what I'm doing in case anyone is interested. My scale hasn't arrived yet, but I already feel a bit lighter. I can't exercise because of MECFS, so diet is the only way for me.

If anyone wants resources, check out:

Forks over Knives (documentary, website, and book),

How Not to Diet by Dr. Michael Greger (the best book on weight loss I've ever read, with like 5000 scientific references)

How Not to Die (documentary and book by Dr. Michael Greger. Doc is on youtube).

Long post, but I hope this information can help someone else.

submitted by /u/plantyplant559
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/bRFM3h7

Softer and less elastic skin after weight loss

26 year old man

I lost 28 kg in little over two years but I also did lots of yoyo dieting due to depression. I will show you my full journey bellow. I am now 3 weeks in at maintanace. Went from 96 kg to 68 kg. I am a man 175 cm. So I never had a maintanace period. Until now. I am using vitamin c serum, peptide serum, retinol serum, vitamin c supplements, collagen supplements, moisturizer, sunscreen, neck and face exercises, working out, eat enough protein, 8 glasses of water a fay, plan to be at maintanace for 6-12 months, maybe do RF microneedling, thinking about fasting. Now my skin isn't hanging. It looks like my normal skin but it's softer and less compact and has lost some elasticity. Because it spreads out a lot more than it did before my weight gain and loss, when pressed, I can not wear shirts, scarfs or ties anymore because it spreads out right away and I hate it. I genetically have less elastic skin than others but it bothers me how it has gotten worse now. My cheeks, hyoid and neck are softer. My platysma band skin is like a little sail Over my platysma so it's a little loose. Not as close to the neck as it was before. My body looks good but when tucked or pressed my arms, legs and abdomen gets loose and jiggly and spreads out. Here is my journey. P.s I had a weight gain journey from 2018 to 2019 and a weight loss journey from 2019 to 2020 but I don't have the data for that. Will it tighten back up with maintanace and care or has my yoyo dieting ruined it forever?

Help me

2020 15 jan 2020 — 63,2 kg 21 jan 2020 — 65 kg 27 jan 2020 — 65,5 kg 30 jan 2020 — 65 kg 04 feb 2020 — 65 kg 17 feb 2020 — 66,9 kg 03 mars 2020 — 64,9 kg 09 mars 2020 — 67,3 kg 10 mars 2020 — 67,8 kg 16 mars 2020 — 68 kg 23 mars 2020 — 68,2 kg 31 mars 2020 — 67,2 kg 05 apr 2020 — 68,6 kg 10 apr 2020 — 68 kg 14 apr 2020 — 67,5 kg 20 apr 2020 — 67,5 kg 27 apr 2020 — 67,3 kg 05 maj 2020 — 66,8 kg 11 maj 2020 — 68,3 kg 18 maj 2020 — 68,3 kg 25 maj 2020 — 68 kg 01 juni 2020 — 69,4 kg 08 juni 2020 — 68,7 kg 22 juni 2020 — 69,6 kg 06 juli 2020 — 71,5 kg 14 juli 2020 — 69,3 kg 27 juli 2020 — 71,3 kg 03 aug 2020 — 70,6 kg 31 aug 2020 — 71,3 kg 08 sep 2020 — 72,7 kg 16 sep 2020 — 70,6 kg 21 sep 2020 — 73,5 kg 28 sep 2020 — 73,3 kg 05 nov 2020 — 76 kg 11 nov 2020 — 75,3 kg 07 dec 2020 — 77,2 kg

2021 01 jan 2021 — 79,5 kg 09 feb 2021 — 82 kg 16 feb 2021 — 81,7 kg 22 feb 2021 — 81,5 kg 01 mars 2021 — 82,8 kg 05 apr 2021 — 80,6 kg 27 apr 2021 — 82,2 kg 24 maj 2021 — 82,3 kg 31 maj 2021 — 82,2 kg 07 juni 2021 — 81,8 kg 15 juni 2021 — 81,4 kg 22 juni 2021 — 81,2 kg 28 juni 2021 — 80,7 kg 05 juli 2021 — 81 kg 12 juli 2021 — 80,6 kg 19 juli 2021 — 80,2 kg 26 juli 2021 — 79,7 kg 08 aug 2021 — 80,2 kg 16 aug 2021 — 79 kg 23 aug 2021 — 78,6 kg 30 aug 2021 — 76,8 kg 06 sep 2021 — 76,9 kg 13 sep 2021 — 75,6 kg 20 sep 2021 — 75 kg 22 sep 2021 — 75 kg 27 sep 2021 — 73,9 kg 04 okt 2021 — 73,6 kg 12 okt 2021 — 73,1 kg 18 okt 2021 — 72,1 kg 25 okt 2021 — 71,1 kg 01 nov 2021 — 70,4 kg 08 nov 2021 — 69 kg 15 nov 2021 — 70 kg 23 nov 2021 — 69 kg 01 dec 2021 — 68,6 kg 06 dec 2021 — 67,8 kg 30 dec 2021 — 71 kg

2022 06 jan 2022 — 71,3 kg 17 jan 2022 — 71,7 kg 24 jan 2022 — 72,9 kg 31 jan 2022 — 73,2 kg 07 feb 2022 — 73,6 kg 14 feb 2022 — 74 kg 21 feb 2022 — 73,8 kg 28 feb 2022 — 75,2 kg 14 mars 2022 — 76 kg 28 mars 2022 — 76,5 kg 05 apr 2022 — 75,9 kg 11 apr 2022 — 76,2 kg 18 apr 2022 — 77,2 kg 25 apr 2022 — 78 kg 09 maj 2022 — 78,8 kg 17 maj 2022 — 76,2 kg 23 maj 2022 — 76,5 kg 30 maj 2022 — 77 kg 31 maj 2022 — 77 kg 06 juni 2022 — 76,1 kg 13 juni 2022 — 76 kg 27 juni 2022 — 75 kg 11 juli 2022 — 74 kg 18 juli 2022 — 74 kg 25 juli 2022 — 73 kg 01 aug 2022 — 74,1 kg 08 aug 2022 — 73,1 kg 15 aug 2022 — 73 kg 19 sep 2022 — 74,7 kg 26 sep 2022 — 76,5 kg 04 okt 2022 — 76 kg 17 okt 2022 — 78,5 kg 25 okt 2022 — 77,7 kg 31 okt 2022 — 76,5 kg 21 nov 2022 — 82 kg 05 dec 2022 — 83,6 kg

2023 26 jan 2023 — 89,4 kg 06 feb 2023 — 88,8 kg 20 feb 2023 — 92,4 kg 06 apr 2023 — 95,7 kg 16 juli 2023 — 91,5 kg 31 juli 2023 — 96,6 kg 07 aug 2023 — 95 kg 14 aug 2023 — 95,6 kg 21 aug 2023 — 94,8 kg 28 aug 2023 — 93,8 kg 04 sep 2023 — 93 kg 11 sep 2023 — 92,8 kg 12 sep 2023 — 92,2 kg 18 sep 2023 — 91,2 kg 25 sep 2023 — 90,2 kg 02 okt 2023 — 89,2 kg 07 okt 2023 — 89,2 kg 14 okt 2023 — 89,2 kg 16 okt 2023 — 89,6 kg 23 okt 2023 — 88,2 kg 30 okt 2023 — 87,8 kg 13 nov 2023 — 86,8 kg 27 nov 2023 — 86 kg 04 dec 2023 — 84,7 kg 18 dec 2023 — 84,3 kg 26 dec 2023 — 84,1 kg

2024 01 jan 2024 — 84,1 kg 28 jan 2024 — 83 kg 07 maj 2024 — 84 kg 14 maj 2024 — 83 kg 28 maj 2024 — 83 kg 03 juni 2024 — 86 kg 11 juni 2024 — 85 kg 17 juni 2024 — 84 kg 24 juni 2024 — 83 kg 08 juli 2024 — 82 kg 15 juli 2024 — 81 kg 22 juli 2024 — 80 kg 29 juli 2024 — 79 kg 05 aug 2024 — 80 kg 06 aug 2024 — 80 kg 14 aug 2024 — 80 kg 26 aug 2024 — 79 kg 09 sep 2024 — 79 kg 30 sep 2024 — 78,2 kg 07 okt 2024 — 77 kg 30 okt 2024 — 76 kg 04 nov 2024 — 75 kg 18 nov 2024 — 74 kg 20 nov 2024 — 74 kg 25 nov 2024 — 74 kg

2025 31 jan 2025 — 75,7 kg 28 apr 2025 — 78 kg 15 juni 2025 — 80 kg 05 nov 2025 — 75,7 kg 16 nov 2025 — 73,5 kg 17 nov 2025 — 72,8 kg 2026 21 feb 2026 — 68 kg

submitted by /u/Square_Community7189
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/j5Q2OCX

Thursday, March 19, 2026

Is there hope?

So I guess this is abit of a success story mixed with anxiety and fear but here we go.

I used to weight 140kg a few years ago and now I’m almost at 85kg at 15% body fat and I am very happy with that. A large reason for my weight loss was to find a partner since I really want a family in the future. However as I inch further towards my goal I get the dread that it’s not gonna change anything in terms of my attractiveness. I was on apps at 104kg last time at roughly 32% body fat and I struggled hard. And I was really hoping my weight loss would help me succeed but I am scared it won’t. I haven’t gone out on the apps yet but I am planning to once I reach my goal.

Out of curiosity I tried online attractiveness eaters and got the following scores

AI: 7-8/10

Reddit: 5/10

Photofeeler: 8/10

I don’t know what o make of this but I really hope my weight loss will give me more success.

submitted by /u/Famaffe
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/N25q3zj

20 pounds down… Here’s what I’ve learned so far!

  1. Progress isn’t linear. I have days where I go over my calories but I don’t let it deter me from sticking to it the next day. I try not to let myself have a ‘bad’ day twice in a row. I have been giving myself grace and talking to myself almost lovingly. The journey is so much easier when I love myself rather than hating myself through it :) ♡

  2. I learned to sit with hunger and found that it goes away after a while. Before, I would eat anything and everything even when I felt sick to the stomach stuffing myself because I didn’t know how to be okay with feeling even the littlest bit hungry. I feel a lot more regulated letting myself just wait 20-30 minutes after eating even when I do have the urge to eat more.

  3. Every time I choose to stick to the promises I made to myself—sticking to my meal plan, taking that walk, cooking at home, I have new found confidence in myself. My weight-loss journey has been more than just losing weight. I feel so confident in myself as a person because I practice discipline every single day and show up for myself.

I just wanted to share some things I have learned during my weight loss journey, if it helped anyone I’m so happy ♡ We all got this!

submitted by /u/hhh520
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/5pnVBgZ

Losing weight, but still fat and really sick of it. Wondering if/when I'll start feeling smaller?

I am an obese but otherwise healthy female in her mid-20s who is actively losing body fat. I'm 5'5" in height and weigh 202 lbs as of this morning. (That's AWESOME, because at the start of the year I was 215.) I was chubby as a kid and super lean as a teenager (125lbs), but after I quit team sports in high school my weight crept up each year because I love to stuff my face. In my early 20s, I experienced a severe psychiatric episode and self medicated with junk food - I put on almost 60 pounds in a year, with my highest weight hitting 254. I was completely miserable, felt sick all of the time, and could barely get around. I am now on the right meds (including ADHD meds for the first time in several years, which have helped with my impulse control). I don't regret being as big as I was because I needed to learn that morbid obesity is not right for me. (PS - my A1C, cholesterol, and hormones are all in the normal range.)

In 2023, I finally dropped some weight and began to hover at around 222 until August of 2025. In autumn of last year, the ADHD meds kickstarted another wave of weight loss because I have much better impulse control and eat a balanced, lower-calorie diet. I also lift weight and walk + use the elliptical machine 2-4 times a week. Like I said, my morning weigh-in today had me at 202.8 lbs and I let out a celebratory cheer when I saw the number - I'm SO CLOSE to being out of the 200s!

But I still feel huge. I feel rotund. I am a giant beast! I know that 202 lbs on a petite 5'5" frame is still very big and I have a long way to go, but I sort-of don't feel any lighter than I was at 254. Thankfully, people in my life have noticed my recent weight drop (I've noticed it on my face too; I'm so pleased to see my jawline and beautiful neck coming back!). Has anyone else experienced this? Will it take a while until I start to feel "lighter"? I'm TIRED of feeling like I'm carrying around a bunch of kindergarteners on my waist all of the time. I wish that I could speed this process up. But the weight went on really gradually, so I know that it will come off gradually too. I'm just feeling so impatient.

TL;DR: My highest weight was 254 lbs. I am 202 lbs now and don't feel lighter, even though I'm steadily losing body fat, actively working on improving my strength and stamina, and can feel my muscles getting stronger. I'm wondering if I will ever get to a point where I don't feel like a whale anymore. Thoughts?

Edited for grammar and to add a contextual sentence.

submitted by /u/jamillia6
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/benqKvy

Wednesday, March 18, 2026

28 year old 6ft male month weight loss discussion.

Hello my name is Rhys.

Feb 19th – 104.8 kg

March 19th – 101.3 kg

(Lowest being yesterday at 100.9 kg)

I’m a 28-year-old, 6'1" male, and I’ve been tracking my weight consistently over the past month while trying to stay in a calorie deficit. I’ve been reasonably disciplined with my food, keeping things fairly controlled day to day, and I’ve also been paying attention to my activity levels.

I’m curious how my progress is looking overall for the first month. I’ve lost a few kilos, but I’m wondering if the results should be more dramatic at this stage, or if this is considered a solid and realistic rate of progress. I’m also unsure whether the level of fluctuation I’m seeing on the scale is normal, or if my graph should look smoother and more consistently downward.

One thing I’ve been finding mentally challenging is how the scale behaves over short periods. For example, I might sit in the low 101 kg range for several days, then finally see a drop into something like 100.7 kg, which feels like a big milestone. But then within a couple of days, it jumps back up to around 101.3 kg again, which can feel frustrating and makes it seem like I’ve undone progress, even though I’ve been consistent.

I’d appreciate any insight into whether this pattern is normal, and how others interpret these kinds of fluctuations when trying to assess real progress.

Thanks.

submitted by /u/Letsplaycooked
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/1dEYCaH

Lost 60lbs and Friends and Family are Telling Me to Stop

For context I'm 5'2 female, my highest weight was 213 lb and Im now currently 153 lb. My goal weight is around 120-130lb so in the middle range of a healthy bmi.

I have some friends and family telling me that I need to stop losing weight. That their concerned that my goal weight is too low for me despite it not being considered under weight for my height. And its making me feel very discouraged.

This is my 2nd serious attempt at weight loss. I previously dieted back in 2015 and went from 160 lb to 134 lb at my lowest before gaining it back and more through some unfortunate life circumstances.

And now that I've lost 60 lbs, I'm suddenly being told that I looked "too thin" back when i was 134 lb and how it made me look like I had a "big lollypop head." They never said this to me back then but are saying it now. And to be honest, back then I still felt a little chubby at 134 lb which is why I want to aim slightly lower this time.

The people telling me this are overweight themselves and want to lose weight but havent made as much progress as me. So I cant help but think theres some jealousy involved.

I dont know what to do about the comments other than to ignore it and still pursue my goal. Im not great at confrontations and Im a bit afraid of the comments they'll make if and when I do hit my goal though.

submitted by /u/Left_Stage6333
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/2rXdmxN

Moved to a bigger house…

And I couldn’t believe how much higher my TDEE has been since I moved, and how much easier it is to hit my step goals, movement goals, etc.

I recently moved from a 500 square foot tiny apartment to a 1400 square foot house which has two flights of stairs. A week after I moved, my Apple Watch started giving me notifications about how there’s been a change in my daily average steps, flights climbed, daily calories burned, etc. I don’t count “exercise calories burned” from my watch when determining my deficit because I don’t want to over estimate but I’ve definitely noticed a higher rate of weight loss since I moved.

The more I think of it, it makes sense. At my old place, if I got up to get a sweater, water, my phone charger etc, I only had to walk 5 feet to get it. Now when I need something, I’m often going upstairs or walking to the other side of my house. It really adds up. I’m getting 4000-5000 additional steps per day now.

I never would have imagined that moving to a bigger house would make it so much easier for me to lose weight, but it’s pretty noticeable, and I’ll take it!

submitted by /u/orange_bigcat
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/HVrTp58

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Is weight loss really just eating healthy and exercising?

What other recommendations do you have in order to make a weight loss long-lasting, maintainable, and how to keep your weight sustainable once at your goal?

Is it really just a matter of sticking to a workout schedule and eating healthy meals/caloric count? To anyone that has lost weight or anyone knowledgeable, is this pretty much it or what other recommendations do you have for this?

In prior weight loss attempts I admit I find myself becoming very impatient and discouraged with the number on the scale. Some months I’d lose 5-6 pounds or a few more, some months maybe 2 pounds at most. This would result in my motivation to hit the gym dwindle and my cravings would get the better of me and I’d choose junk food over healthy snacks. My problem I admit is one of staying on track no matter what. What do I need to do to really hone in on finally sticking to this for the long haul to reach the weight I want? I’m at 5’6 230lbs and i want to get to 145 lbs. any tips are super appreciated!

submitted by /u/TheCleanestKitchen
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/WZl0QYe

weight loss and meds

Hi!

I’ve been trying to lose weight since January, and so far I’ve lost about 5–6 kg. However, I started taking an antidepressant that has increased my appetite, and sometimes I end up exceeding my daily calorie intake.

Also, I’d like to lose just another 3 kg or so, which, from what I’ve read in other people’s experiences, are the hardest to lose.

Does anyone have any tips on how to deal with this, or what kinds of snacks, for example, are best for controlling calories in this situation?

Thanks!

submitted by /u/Neither-Version-7480
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/2nkHa56

Monday, March 16, 2026

Help with confidence after weight loss

Can someone help with confidence issues and struggling with how I look? I’ve struggled with some hormonal health issues + a lot of life stress that causes me to gain a ton of weight really rapidly in a year (5’4” F, went up to 185 from 140). I have stretch marks now and the weight is slowly coming down but I’m sagging and have some loose skin on my upper thighs and I really hate looking in a mirror. I know the right person won’t care but it’s really really hard reading tons of guys say it’s a turn off especially when I’m only 29. I hate looking in a mirror and keep crying about this every day. I know there’s a chance some will tighten at my age but right now I need some hope and some comfort and some help. one of my closest guy friends for a decade told me recently I’m not the kind of woman guys would go for and I can’t blame them for having preferences and going for the best they can get

submitted by /u/Ok_Recover_1314
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/eRp1nck

Walking at work for weight loss

F, 35, 5'8", 185 lbs

About 1.5 years ago I went from being a very active construction worker to a desk job. I didn't change my diet and now I've gained about 30lbs. I would REALLY like to be down to a max of 150.

So now, I've got my diet pretty dialed in and am weight training 4 days a week.

However, they say there is no amount of exercise that can offset 8 hours of sitting. So what I just started is walking a half hour at 2 mph for each hour I'm at work.

What i want to know is has anyone started walking a bunch and had good success with weight loss?

submitted by /u/WintersGain
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/QdgfpJk

Sunday, March 15, 2026

Eating big and dealing with the Guilt

35M/5'10"/SW 349.0/CW 283.4/GW 200.00/ LOSS START DATE9/16/2025

I've made a few posts to this group before. It's been beyond helpful to me to be able to talk about my weight loss journey and some of the challenges I come up against.

The current challenge I am facing is having to deal with cheat days, slip ups or whatever you call days where you eat above your deficit.

I have been diligently tracking my calories since September 16th. According to MFP, I have tracked my calories for 178 days straight. I am a little over 66 lb and Brother, let me tell you it feels great.

I've been very meticulous with my eating. Completely switched up my diet. A lot of salads, lean meats, virtually. Virtually no pasta. I can count on one hand. The amount of times I've had pasta since September three times. If my family wants fast food for dinner, that's what they have and I will eat shredded chicken breast and rice.

That is why I am struggling with this weekend. For whatever reason I splurged and while my kids ate McDonald's I ordered myself a pizza from my favorite dive bar. The perfect amount of cheese, pepperoni and grease. I've proceeded to eat the whole pizza myself throughout the night. I also had a few heavy drinks. A Guinness slammer and a White Russian to be exact. Today, I met with some friends after the gym and we had a few drinks at a cigar bar. I proceeded to join them at the local Chinese buffet and ate very big there too.

All in all, I barely ate over what would be my maintenance calories for the day. I was over by 110 calories yesterday and I am 67 calories over today (chatgpt is very helpful in counting).

I can't help but feel a sense of guilt because I haven't eaten at maintenance calories in 178 days. How do you guys combat the feelings of guilt when you go overboard?

submitted by /u/FT1882
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/WILRjeH

CALORIES IN / OUT !!

I’ve finally realized that weight loss really comes down to calories in versus calories out.

In the past, I lost 20 lbs (9 kg) through intense cardio, sprints, and stair master sessions …only to gain it back, and then lose it again.

This time, I focused on minimal cardio, light weights, and about 6,000 steps per day, while maintaining a 200 calorie daily deficit. I’ve not only lost weight but also kept it off for a year.

Cardio is important for heart health, but when it comes to weight management, it’s all about calories !! nothing else matters.

submitted by /u/DarkKnightt019
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/nlwfsP2

Loose skin

Hi everyone.

I’m starting my weight loss journey and I’d really appreciate hearing some real experiences. I started gaining weight around age 15 due to depression. I’m 20 now and currently weigh 145 kg (about 320 lbs).

Before that period of my life I was actually very active – I competed in school sports competitions, went to the gym, and generally lived a really active lifestyle. Unfortunately my mental health got very bad and all of that slowly disappeared.

The good news is that I’m finally doing much better mentally, and I’ve decided to seriously commit to losing weight and taking care of myself again. One thing that worries me a lot is loose skin.

I know that having a healthy weight and a normal BMI is much more important than worrying about loose skin, but it’s honestly the one thing that keeps bothering me when I think about this journey.

For context: Age: 20 Height: 178 cm (about 5'10") Weight: 145 kg (320 lbs)

I gained most of the weight over the last ~5 years. I would really appreciate hearing from people who were in a similar situation (significant weight gain in late teens / early 20s).

How much loose skin did you have after losing weight? Did your skin tighten over time? Is there anything you did that helped?

Thank you so much in advance for sharing your experiences. It would mean a lot to me.

submitted by /u/mlikyq
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/9LoKFId

CICO

29 SW 255lbs CW 245lbs

I’ve tried so many of the fad diets out there.

Keto,

Soup diet

Weight watchers (I’m sure works for some but it’s too much relying on a phone for me)

Avoiding the basic “calories in calories out” cause I thought it would be way too annoying and difficult.

Here I am, 8 days in to CICO. Trying to stick to routine- it helps me not grab whatever. I’ve been doing a protein shake for breakfast, and a Tiffany plate for lunch (around 350 calories) and for dinner, I can pretty much make the regular meals I’ve been making for my family, but keeping a smaller portion, along with a salad on the side to fill up. last night at the end of the night I even had enough calories left to have half of a donut. I was worried about the scale this morning because of it, but I was still down half a lb. I know the weight loss will slow down plenty. I know there will be times that it is more difficult than others. But I am honestly really enjoying doing CICO.

I am going to start incorporating some light workouts. Due to my weight, walking 10 k steps leaves me sore the next day but once the weather gets nicer I will be taking my baby out for walks and trying to hit 10 k steps a day.

I am so relieved to be able to work ways around still having something sweet that I would most likely avoid while being on other diets. I really feel it will help me to consider this a lifestyle change and not a “diet”

I also feel soooo much better physically. Although there aren’t any changes to my body yet, I already feel way less bloated and more energized than before by cutting out the garbage I would usually eat.

submitted by /u/kayem16
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/Spm1tFo

Saturday, March 14, 2026

Exercise cals and whether to include them.

M, 173lb,5’11

I know this has been talked about alot - but im trying to figure out if I should count my exercise calories in my deficit.

Everyday this month im rowing 10,000M (personal fitness challenge thing, not for weight loss.) depending on the intensity, my machine says I’ll burn anywhere from 415 to 515 calories, depending on intensity. This can take anywhere from 45-60 mins. I’m also resistance training every other day, I do not count these calories in my deficit.

I’m eating around 2200 calories per day. Is this enough? Considering this puts me at a deficit of 800-1000 per day if I’m not mistaken?

Appreciate the help!

submitted by /u/BLPROD1994
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/6M0P4dC

Weight loss advice

So I been on ozempic for about a year my eating habits before were horrible, now I get full faster physically but I can’t stop the urges. I’m getting better at it but still struggling ozempic helped me stop the urges. I been off ozempic for about almost a month. I feel like I’ve gained a lot of weight but on the scale it only says I’ve gained like three pounds. Idk if it’s mental but I’m still overweight. I barely did exercise and diet with ozempic, I just did like one workout every 3 weeks and ate less how do I loose weight without it and control myself?

submitted by /u/CraftyBodybuilder956
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/B6uTkH4

I’m stuck at 147kg (324lb) 173cm (5ft8) 30yo Male

As the title says, I started my weight loss journey on January 7th at 163 kg (360 lb). I’ve made progress since then, but for the last 3 weeks my weight has been stuck and it’s starting to frustrate me a lot

Since February 5th, I’ve been doing a minimum of 10,000 steps every single day. Some days I do more, but 10k is my baseline. Right now, that’s my main form of activity. I’m not doing cardio workouts or lifting weights yet, just walking consistently every day

With food, I do try to stay in a calorie deficit. I’m not following a super strict diet, but I make a real effort to stay around a 500 to 1500 calorie deficit per day. I’m not perfect with tracking, but I’m usually mindful of what I eat and I try not to go overboard. I also try to eat more protein, but honestly my carbs usually end up being higher than I want

One thing that might matter is that I’ve been overweight basically my whole life, so this isn’t a situation where I was lean and then gained some weight recently. I’ve been heavy for as long as I can remember, which makes me wonder if that changes how I should approach things

I’m mainly looking for advice from people who’ve been through something similar. Is a 3-week plateau normal at my size? Should I start focusing more on macros, especially protein? Should I add weight training, cardio, or just stay patient and keep doing what I’m doing? I’m trying not to get discouraged, but I also don’t want to waste time doing the wrong thing

What would you suggest if you were in my position?

submitted by /u/Ok-Project986
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/adFIREk

Friday, March 13, 2026

help! 27f who needs advice on losing weight.

hi! i’m 27 years old, 5’5, and 190 lbs. I am really wanting to lose weight. I have been eating better, doing more exercise, but I was wondering if anyone had some vitamins/supplement suggestions to give a little bit of a push to help with a faster metabolism, food noise, and cut cravings bad. My sweet tooth is horrible and it has gotten really hard.

I know I can’t lose weight overnight but I really want to find something that IS NOT A GLP-1 to help with the weight loss. I have had so many people suggest it and not only does my insurance not cover it, but i simply just don’t want to take it and risk the side effects that come with it. something easier accessible, more natural, and lighter on the body/stomach is what I am looking for. I’ve gained so much weight the past few years and it’s so frustrating.

i just want to feel like myself again. anything helps! i’ve never been this weight before and its so frustrating and discouraging. be kind. thank you. <3

submitted by /u/momslovemefishfearme
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/Ebfr8H7

weight loss as a 5’1 woman is hell

i (20f) have been trying to lose weight desperately for years. i was stuck in a binge restrict cycle for about 5 years and i started to recover in october and since have been trying to have 2 mindful meals a day and usually a latte or chai. living in a college dorm, it is extremely difficult to eat completely clean since i can’t make my own food, but i try my best. ive been at the same weight since my last binge cycle, around 137lbs. i just feel hopeless because i know eating a normal healthy diet is not enough to get to an average weight for someone of my size. i’ve recently cut out liquid calories and started going to the gym again, trying my best not to start exercise purging again (something i used to do frequently) and just trying to go to the gym 3 or 4 times a week. i’ve also started counting calories again, and i know 1200 is not recommended, but it’s genuinely the maximum deficit for someone of my height/weight.

an issue ive been running into: i work a fairly active job from 6pm-5am and usually end up eating a slice of pizza at work. today i was up to about 1100cals, and ate a slice bringing me to 1400, and i don’t have time to work out on days i work. i only work twice a week, and i know a diet should be sustainable, but at my size i will genuinely gain if i don’t follow a very strict diet. i just don’t know what to do and i really need some help.

submitted by /u/Low_Tank822
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/QBstr7Z

I made a weight loss prediction calculator spreadsheet based on CICO and TDEE

I am not sure if this is going to be useful to anyone but I had fun making it and using it to see if I am on track.

This sheet calculates your weekly weight loss (in lbs) by taking your inputs for your start date and weight, how many calories you eat daily, activity level, height/age/gender while using the Mifflin-St Jeor equation for TDEE.

My goal was to make a tool that could tell me (based on how much I eat and work out each day) what weight I would be at at any given date using my TDEE vs deficit instead of the standard 1-2 lbs per week method.

Feel free to make a copy and play with it. The blue cells are the values you can adjust to change the outcomes in the green cells. There are two tabs, you can use the "Weight Loss Schedule" tab to record your actual progress and it will populate into the graph on the right and compare it to the "estimated".

Here is the link: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Z076WaumN3OAQi4B9-EOYnVlqZTYOuXO2D7_nJM1FBg/edit?gid=1969543839#gid=1969543839

submitted by /u/PrincesssOfNothing
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/uEd9PXW

250 pounds gone and still gone one year later

I (41F) posted here last year but people thought it was fake, so fine. But it's not, and now another year has passed, and there's probably something in what I'm about to write that will help someone else, so I thought I'd give it another try, because this maintenance phase thing is no joke :)

For context: I do live alone and have no children. I have a salaried, full-time job that often occupies 80 hours of my life weekly. I come from a "broken home" but I'm educated and financially sound. Aside from weighing 400+ pounds when this all began I never had any known physical health issues. My blood pressure has been fine, no PCOS, etc. My mental health has always been in the gutter, never treated. I escaped through food. I was (and still am, I just don't) a binge eater; I stopped to get fast food 1-2x daily, I also ordered delivery probably 5x a week; my cupboards and fridge were fulllll of sugary and salty snacks always. Just food everywhere, all the time.

At the beginning of January 2024 I went on a trip and stayed in a hotel for the first time in a long time. At my house I don't have mirrors, but it was almost laughable how many mirrors this hotel had; I couldn't escape them. I have a thing with numbers so I don't weigh myself (I'll explain more below), but I couldn't stop looking at myself in the mirror, and not for good reasons. Rolls upon rolls; so much of me. I thought I was cute. I didn't realize body dysmorphia worked the other way too.

The hotel's fitness room had a scale and I hopped on, but it only weighed people up to 400 pounds and I error messaged it, so yikes. I was a size 5XL or dress size 28-30 and I'm only 5'7. I had brought my bathing suit with me because the hotel had a pool. Luckily it fit, and luckily I didn't think any further about how disgusting I looked. I got out of my head and into the pool and proceeded to just swim back and forth for the next 60 minutes (more like treading water because those indoor pools in hotels are tiny, but, you get the point). One of my goals was to visit a few bakeries that day and get Chinese for lunch and dinner, and without thinking, I skipped all the food errands and drove around town instead. The next day I swam another 60 minutes and walked 1/4 mile (barely). The next day I swam 90 minutes with a few breaks and walked 1/4 mile again, and better this time, faster. Then I went home and promised myself I'd walk every day; it didn't matter how far. I walked before and after work; sometimes twice after work. I was never a morning person but I realized if I walked before work I was more likely to walk that day, so I woke up earlier and earlier. By May I was able to walk 5 miles in one go. I started doing that before and sometimes also after work. It was fun! I liked the feeling, all those endorphins. I had a good play list and the route was 100% flat. I set myself up to succeed. By August I was walking half marathons in one go, and I got up to marathons. I kept that going year-round, and into 2025.

Obviously what you're eating is even more important. It is not possible to outrun or in my case out walk a bad diet. I realized very quickly that I couldn't have anything sweet or oily in my house. Someone gave me a gift of donuts or a few cookies? I'd wash them in the sink and chuck them in the trash. Birthday cake at work and everyone's pressuring me to eat it? Yeah, I started to lie about food allergies and people stopped pressuring me. No gray areas--gray areas led me to eat and binge again. I kept my same meal menu for each meal for over a year. Breakfast was two eggs on one 100 cal English muffin with 4 slices of thin ham (two slices of ham and one egg on each English muffin half). Lunch was a Granny smith apple or banana with one scoop of mini chocolate chips and 2 scoops of PB2 (powdered peanut butter; it's 30 cal a scoop if you're not packing it into the scoop) and a protein bar (usually 150-200 cals for the bar) and dinner was either white chicken or white fish, a mess of broccoli, and butternut squash. I aimed for 300 cal breakfast, 400 cal lunch, 500 cal dinner. If I was hungry at night I either went for another walk, went to bed early, or ate a low fat cheese stick or individual bag/pre-measured snack. When I started walking half marathons and marathons, I ate more. I learned what volume eating was and consumed a pound or more berries a day when I was doing long walks. Halo ice cream was introduced, and more protein bars. I was always careful not to eat my deficit. That seems to be a common lesson learned too late by other posters on this subreddit, so because those people shared their cautionary tales, I avoided doing that myself.

The third thing that isn't talked about as much in the context of losing weight is the amount of stressors in your life. Mental health is different and also a valid factor, but I feel like other posters on this sub talk about mental health often in their posts, and I have no business talking about mental health personally because I acknowledge I have untreated issues. But general stress, I am good at identifying, owning, and eliminating. 90% of my stressors were that I happened to have a TON of toxic people in my life through work, my family, and even unfortunately some one-sided "friendships" that I allowed to take up space. Within the first month of the weight loss and changing my diet, I completely axed all the soul-suckers from my life, cold turkey. "I know longer have space for you in my life" was the harsh-sounding sentence I chose to use, but I had to be brave for myself and take my life back from these people. The other 10% of my stress came through my job, which I needed and didn't have the bandwidth to change, but because I dropped 90% of my stress pretty much overnight, I had more mental space to deal with the remaining 10% work stress. I did make some changes to how I approached my work that helped me take control of my life and I figured it out.

At first, the weight was just melting off. I skipped sizes. I learned early not to buy a lot of new clothes (but it was a lot of fun and I did it anyway because my confidence was sky high and that helped me stay motivated). I never weighed myself so I have no idea what my TDEE was or is now. I have an idea what it is now because I've been maintaining for a year, and because I'm numbers obsessed, I know how many calories I'm roughly consuming. I'm a size 6-8 or S-M now; in the summer I'll probably get closer to a 6 because I walk more. My leg muscles are insane because of all of the walking so I'm not sure I'd look great smaller than a size 6; my face looked skeleton-like when I was testing out losing more weight this past summer, so I'm happy where I'm at now. I also learned that having a size range is a better approach because the smaller you get, the closer the clothing sizes are together and I completely understand why so many posters on this subreddit get so sad when they start gaining weight. It only takes me a few pounds of weight gain to outgrow clothes. My body changes all the time, I'm also peri menopausal, so while I do have some skin tight dresses and jackets, most of my clothes have a little give while still highlighting my curves and flatness : )

It's most likely more, but I "easily" lost 250 pounds in a year. And then I naturally stopped losing weight because even though I'm still a walking machine (at least 20,000 steps every day), I increased the amount of food I was eating daily and the treats I allowed myself to have during my walks so I wouldn't have to carry food with me. And I just maintained. I still eat the same food above, but I've added more to my repertoire and I also eat salads, shrimp fajitas (with those carb smart tortillas), salmon, and tons of different fruits and vegetables. I will never drink juice and soda again, and I never drank alcohol before so that's a non-issue. I don't deprive myself but I know if I bring candy, ice cream, or chips into my house that I'll plow the whole bag. I still have no self control, I still have food noise like crazy. I own this, I don't view this as a bad thing--it's just who I am. The walking helps, but when I stop walking, the food noise is back with a vengeance. I have to occupy myself with work, my pets, cleaning, showering or sleeping. All the food in my house is in my kitchen, I have rules about never eating upstairs.

I know this post is a bit all over the place, but I don't talk about weight loss with anyone in my life--that's one thing I also learned. I had tried to lose weight twice before. I lost 100 pounds 15 years ago, and put it back on in 3 years. The looks of pity my "friends" gave me when they would see me after a while and notice my weight gain just made me gain the weight back even faster. During COVID I also tried to lose weight but I wasn't smart enough about tracking calories and serving sizes, so while I was walking miles a day, I was actually gaining weight. This time around some people assumed I was sick instead of actively trying to lose weight because of how fast I was losing it, and I never corrected them because they stopped asking/talking about it, and that was a big help.

Regarding all of the walking. I thought I knew myself before this weight loss process, but spending all that time alone with myself was really intense. It brought up some bad thoughts, some repressed childhood anxieties, etc. I started asking friends I trusted to join me on short walks, but I still walked alone most of the time, and that helped ease my mind. Now I only walk by myself--I look forward to the solitude. I'm having a hard time finding the words to describe this, but I think when I first started losing weight, I was feeling loneliness on my walks, and now I embrace the solitude. I learned the difference between those two things and how healthy solitude was/is for me during this transformation. I have some good play lists and podcasts on deck to listen to when the silence is too much.

Regarding lifting weights. I wanted to maximize cardio and knew I wouldn't be patient enough for lifting weights and I would probably lose focus on the weight loss effort as a whole if I spent time lifting weights instead of active things, so I never did. Now my arms are very flappy and I have to either embrace a tank top or wear sleeves to conceal the "wings." I think my arms are quite the badge of honor from how far I've come--I see it as a thing that shows off my hard work. Other posters talk about how they are disgusted by their "wings" and other flappy areas, and I empathize, but I don't view my own that way. I was lucky that my face/neck figured itself out and I don't have extra skin there. I have a whole lot of extra skin on my stomach and wear things sometimes to keep that sinched in. It's shrinking over time though and it's hidden so I'm not too concerned. My tip is to use deodorant underneath the extra stomach flap to cut down on the itching, chaffing, and other unpleasantness; I know some people use baby powder, but I don't like smelling like that.

Regarding mistakes made. About 8 months into the weight loss when I shifted to half marathon and marathon walks a day, I didn't increase my calories enough. I lost weight REALLY fast, but I also lost my hair REALLY fast. I lost almost all of my toe nails, which I just assumed was because I was walking more. Once I realized my body was in survival mode, I increased the calories immediately, but my hair is STILL growing back nearly two years later. I know now that other bad things weren't too far behind, like organ failure (kidneys and I read about gallbladder a lot on this sub). That's pretty scary. I wish I knew the signs a lot sooner, and it took another post on this sub about someone going through hair loss and the commenters raising the red flags to teach me what I was doing was dangerous at that point.

Regarding Non-Scale Victories. There are so many of them. A lot of posters on this sub write about them often, so here are a few lesser discussed.

* My skin is amazing now. I had a problem with acne from teenager to late 30s but now I haven't had a pimple probably for 18 months.

* I walk faster than all of my friends now so I have to slow down when I'm hanging out with them

* I can fit into all men's clothing sizes now and probably 90% of women's clothes. There will always be a hoodie, cute dress, or shirt that will fit me (it might be extra baggy, but I like things extra baggy). That means I don't have to purchase something just because it fits me anymore. When I was a XL-5XL or size 18+ I didn't have a lot of clothing options and had to buy whatever thing actually fit over my body; it usually was a gross color or looked bad. It took a while to break the urge of buying all clothes that fit.

* I'm saving so much time and money by not taking as many showers. I don't sweat constantly anymore and I'm saving money on shampoo, etc. It's amazing.

Regarding Unwanted Attention. I do sometimes miss my old self because people ignored me. I get a lot of attention now. I guess I've always had a pretty face, but now it's noticed very frequently without it being hidden behind all the extra pounds. I get hit on by men and women weekly, sometimes days in a row, which is a first. It took me a few months during my maintenance phase in 2025 to realize I needed to figure out if I was open to dating and if so, what I was looking for in a person. That was a topic in my mind during a ton of walks in 2025, and still is. I am dating someone now--we're taking it VERY slow--but it's exactly what I need. It's my very first boyfriend--at 41 years old. But it took me a while to figure out what I wanted, to have the confidence level I needed to date, and I made mistakes as I was trying to figure out how to meet people and how to avoid the bad ones. But at this moment it looks like it's working out : )

Regarding how easy it is to fall back into old habits. I'm still the same person; I still have the same compulsive/binge tendencies. I know that the habits I practiced to lose weight are no longer habits; they are now my lifestyle. I don't have a therapist; I should have one. I don't take anti-depressants or anything for the ADHD I probably have. I know I could still be taking better care of myself. But I'm freaking proud of what I've just accomplished, and continue to accomplish each day when I still go for walks and block out the food noise. Some weeks I nail it; some weeks I eat lots of cookies. I am consistently in touch with myself; I listen to my body; I know when I'm full. When I'm hungry I get up and only get one snack at a time. If I finish that snack and want another one, I get up and get one more snack at that time. I stay away from full bags of chips or cartons of pastries; I portion everything out. I don't weigh food but I measure any powdery things I consume. I don't weigh myself but I let myself look in the mirror to see how my face looks and if I'm getting too bony or swollen looking, and I adjust accordingly, either to my diet, the amount of physical activity, or stress levels.

I think this is all I want to share; there's so much more what I've already written a ton. If you made it this far, thank you for reading. This took me about two hours to put together and I avoided eating an extra Chocolate Cupcake LUNA bar. Because I've already had 3 for lunch and they're so damn good! Guess I won't be buying any more of that flavor in bulk : )

submitted by /u/whisperingduck
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/oGsml8p

Thursday, March 12, 2026

From 418 lbs to 171 lbs! Reached my goal weight this week! No surgery, just eating when I'm hungry and making better food choices that keep me full for longer.

On April 1st of, 2023 I weighed in at 418 lbs., after much hard work and dedication on Jan 1st, of 2026 I dropped below my goal weight of 173 lbs. hitting 171.4 lbs. I am 5'10''.

I used to wear a size 68 portly suit jacket, size 68' waist dress pants, size 24' neck 37/38' sleeve dress shirts, and size 7XLT tee shirts. Today I rock a 42 R slim fit suit jacket, size 32'-34' waist dress pants, size 15' neck 34/35'' sleeve dress shirts, and size XS-M tee shirts depending on the cut and manufacturer.

I didn’t have any weight loss surgery, I have not had any loose skin removed yet (yes there is a lot of loose skin), I didn't follow some crazy fad diet. I simply learned to make better food choices that actually naturally boost GLP-1 (Yes it's produced naturally) and being disciplined enough to eat when I'm hungry.

Some other statistics for those who LOVE math; Year 1: Daily average calories1408.46, weekly average calories consumed 9847.53, calories burned via exercise per week 7639.64, average lost per week 4.9 lbs. Year 2: Daily average calories1509.13, weekly average calories consumed 10,567, calories burned via exercise per week 5628.08, average lost per week 2.19 lbs.

It wasn't always easy, I tried to stay positive for a majority of the weight loss journey, I stumbled a few times, but now I have crossed the finish line and begin a new chapter in my life by maintaining what I have achieved.

I hope that others in this sub who are about to give up, or who just need a little push to help them across their own finish line can take some motivation from this post. If I can do it at age 44, just about anyone can do it!

The last time I posted on this sub I got a lot of questions so just to recap from that previous post:

TL; DR: Eat when hungry, make satiating food choices.

First, I use two apps:

  1. Quell, This has been the number one game changer to make the actual changes to lose weight steadily without going through a binge restrict type loop. Highly recommend. You take a pic of a meal and it uses AI to calculate how long it would keep you sated for (as in how long until hungry) and fills up this cute fuel tank mimicking your body's fuel. I basically eat once that fuel's run out. It also analyzes the meal and educates you on why certain meals and ingredients are more satiating and the ones keeps you full for longer on per calorie rate.

  2. Strava, to track my running and biking calories burned and distance. Clean, pretty intuitive.

  3. Fitnesspal, not extremely useful but just used to it at this point

I made a spreadsheet in Excel. Once a week, on weigh-in day (which is typically Monday or Tuesday) I enter data from my apps to track trends including: Starting weight, current weight, amount of weight lost or gained for the week, daily calorie average for the week, weekly calorie total, weekly total of calories burned via exercise, starting BMI, current BMI, current weight BMR, and weekly calorie deficit.

With formulas in place it is a snap to enter data and see trends so that I can make adjustments to CICO (calorie in and calories out), to ensure I am on the right path.

Since I do a lot of VR based cardio on the Oculus Rift, I use data from the VR institute of Health to calculate calorie burn when playing certain exercise-based games such as Beat Saber, Thrill of the Fight, Holopoint, Audio Shield, Gorn, Fruit Ninja VR, Space Pirate Trainer, etc.

My current favorite Oculus game for cardio is Sound Boxing, I typically do 60-90-minute straight sessions on Sound Boxing a few days a week.

Last, I use a website called WebMD which has calculators to determine calorie burn for other activities, such as doing squats, swimming, playing an instrument while standing etc.

With all of this data available to me, I was able to start making smarter choices every week and it shows in my overall trends.

Final bits of advice are learning what an actual serving size is by utilizing a digital scale to record the food you eat down to the gram so that you have accurate data on CICO, you will be shocked at how small a serving size really is once you start weighing food out.

Another thing you can do is learn to read labels. Look for things like serving size, calories per serving, servings per container. If you have certain nutrition goals in mind read the labels for that info, I personally like to limit salt intake as it makes my weight spike due to water retention and I previously had high blood pressure (which is now cured via weight loss).

I do all of my own meal prep and will typically go to a restaurant supply store and buy disposable microwave food trays that have three sections (protein, veggie, and veggie is what I put into them), and will normally make two meals for myself and my girl at a time so that we can just come home and reheat the trays while I prepare our evening salads.

A typical dinner for me is: 150 grams of spring mix salad (30 calories), with Greek yogurt blue cheese dressing (60 calories), a diced plum tomato (11 calories), and 3 oz. of radish coins (12 calories), seasoned with Nu-Salt, and crushed red pepper flakes.

8 oz of Shady brook farms boneless turkey breast cutlets baked in a 375-degree oven for 12-15 minutes (220 calories and 50 grams of protein)

2 cups of steamed broccoli florets (40 calories). 1 3/4 serving of steamed ShopRite brand baby carrots 61 calories.

After dinner, I peel and dice up a Fuji Apple (63 calories), and combine it with 15 red seedless grapes (34 calories) a light and fit Greek yogurt (80 calories 12 grams of protein) and a serving of pumpkin spice Cheerios dry cereal for crunch (110 calories).

For dessert, I will have a pint of Bryers Delight chocolate ice cream (270 calories 21 grams of protein)

Later after dinner, I will have a toasted Best Pita 80 calories with 16 grams of Smucker’s natural peanut butter (95 calories 4 grams of protein).

That’s a total of 1116 calories for a pretty substantial meal and leaves me with around 400 calories to play around with for the rest of the day (I still typically only eat dinner and my evening snack).

I might use those calories to have oatmeal or eggs before work 100-143 calories or broil up an entire sliced and peeled eggplant for lunch (454 grams 115 calories) drizzled with wasabi sauce (15-30 calories).

I hope this information can help others in their weight loss journey.

submitted by /u/BookkeeperClean175
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/k3DNGpZ

Started my weight loss journey 3.5 weeks ago. Lost 10 ibs so far.

Hi everyone. When I first moved to the U.S in 2018, I probably weighed nothing. I was so slim and skinny cause back home I wasn't eating that much junk food, etc. I came here for college and using the newly found freedom from my parents I had, I started consuming huge chunks of junk food.

I mean I would literally buy a bucket of ice cream from the neighborhood warehouse market every week and eat everything. In addition to this, I would eat my favorite frosted flakes cereal which was a calorie bomb. In summary, I was making very unhealthy choices and eating without regard to my health. Over the course of college, my weight climbed to a staggering 280 lbs. After college, I lost some weight while I was actively searching for jobs. I think a lot of that was due to stress more than anything intentional.

Last month, I had enough. After previous attempts to lose weight failed, and just constantly not being happy with what I was seeing in the mirror I decided its time to take aggressive steps to lower my weight. I started on February 16 at 300 lbs. For context, I’m a 6'2" male. Since then, I’ve been aggressively tracking my calories and weighing myself using a Bluetooth scale that automatically syncs with my phone. It’s helped me stay consistent and accountable.

I’ve also been exercising regularly. I go to my apartment gym and do exercises like bicep curls, hammer curls, and bench presses. I also set a daily goal of 10,000 steps, which I’ve been consistently hitting. I also take 1 scoop of protein powder and creatine after each workout.

I'm not going to give up. I'm in my fourth week and it doesn't feel like my weight loss has kinda slowed.

submitted by /u/Turbulent-Design-336
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/Ac1COtG

Anyone else buy “goal clothes” instead of clothes that fit now?

I’m 28M, 5’11”, currently around 245 lbs. My highest weight was about 290, and my lowest (about 3 years ago) was ~210.

I’ve noticed I have this habit of buying clothes for the size I want to be, not the size I am right now. My closet is full of newer shirts that don’t fit yet. I call them my “goal clothes.”

Part of me doesn’t want to buy clothes that fit my current body because it feels like I’m accepting or enabling where I’m at instead of pushing myself to lose the weight. But the downside is I end up with a closet full of clothes I can’t wear and not many that actually make me look good right now.

I’m starting to realize there might also be a self-acceptance / “love yourself where you are” piece that I’m struggling with too.

Has anyone else dealt with this? How do you balance working toward weight loss goals while also dressing for and accepting the body you have now

submitted by /u/DearCustard1821
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/xIqroLy

Have lost about 10-15 lbs recently and being in bed overnight is weird in a good way: my belly is not there to lean on while side sleeping lol 😲🛌

I’ve been working very hard for 2 months doing weight training and cardio at gym 5-7 days a week. Have never been this consistent with cardio in my life. It’s so hard to begin a weight loss regime and once you have some noticeable gains it’s 100% easier to keep going. The beginning is a leap of faith. It’s hard to believe the hard work will pay off. I lost 45 pounds 5 yrs ago and this was life changing: I didn’t keep it off but it showed me that I could do it and how to do it. Anyhow it’s strange but good to be in a lighter smaller body even though I have a way to go. I can sit closer to my table in a chair and be closer to my sink when using it and can hug my daughter without this little mountain separating us. Even though I’ve only lost about 15 pounds so far I’ve been working very hard at abs and core and the difference is noticeable.

submitted by /u/D1etCokeGirl
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/2JaQSlh

Wednesday, March 11, 2026

Really disheartened at the lack of results even though I feel like I've been doing everything right.

This is honestly a rant because I'm frustrated at this process.

I've been eating at a deficit since September with a starting weight of 210 (36 F). I consume about 1400 - 1600 calories per day because I rapidly lost 80 lbs before at 1200 calories a day and I hated it. Slower was fine with me, as long as I saw progress and felt better. It is now March and I am at 210.5. I also knew I was going to start weight lifting so I didn't want to eat too low of calories.

Timeline:
September to December: Focused only on eating at a deficit and I managed to get down to 205 lbs.

January - Now: I started incorporating weight lifting and cardio into my routine while still eating 1400 - 1600 calories. I do strong lifts 3x per week, cardio dance 3x per week, walking 30+ minutes per day. I did take a week off from cardio dance and lifted only one day when I went on vacation. After vacation I shot back up to 210 and I've been there ever since.

I have a doctor's appointment next week to discuss this because I'm honestly at a loss. I measure and weigh my food, I'm active, and I'm eating at a deficit. Like I said, I've lost 80 lbs before about 12 years ago, and it was never this hard to lose weight. It was difficult in other ways, but I was able to easily lose weight. I do have a bit of a buffalo hump so that paired with this weight loss struggle makes me wonder if it's cushings (which I'll bring up to my doctor).

This sucks because I feel like I'm doing everything right and I'm not seeing the scale budge at all.

submitted by /u/churrofromspace
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/e3jIYMU

Embarrassed of Weight Loss Talk?

I'm sure this might be a common topic or fear amongst the weight loss community, but just looking for some advice and positivity!

I have been overweight for 90% of my life - seriously since like the 1st grade haha. My parents made it known I needed to lose weight around 6th grade but my family as a whole was unhealthy and I was already had bad habits at that point. As you can imagine, growing up fat wasn't easy and I tried a million ways to lose weight throughout middle school and high school but always got silly comments from my parents, dad especially, anytime I tried. For example, if I got a salad he'd say "Wow no burger this time? Trying again?" Or when he'd catch me working out in my room he'd laugh about it and bring it up to family later as a joke.

Jump to my 20s, still obese, but in a much better mindset now and cutoff a lot of family. I now have a family of my own and my husband loves me no matter what, he's never said one negative thing about my body and wants me to do what makes me happy. I mention weight loss or exercise sometimes and he is so supportive but why am I so freaking embarrassed?? I want to hide anytime I try making a healthy choice or hide my exercise equipment. How do I fix this? 😢 help.

submitted by /u/ethereal-cherry
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/2NkdHun

Tuesday, March 10, 2026

is the way i eat okay for weight loss?

i’m 13 which i think might be important info cause ik teens and adults lose/gain/need to eat differently. I haven’t weighed myself in awhile but last time i did i was about 170-180 and im pretty short like 5’0-5’2 (not super sure i haven’t measured my height in awhile but its around that) and i haven’t really lost much, though my thighs do look a tiny bit smaller, i’ve tried more unhealthy ways to lose weight in the past but i wanna try losing again in a better way i don’t wanna be fat anymore lol and those other ways didn’t work. Anyway to the point, i kinda just eat whenever i feel slightly hungry, i do eat every time i feel sad/depressed though which probably isn’t great, sometimes ill go all day without eating just as like a “fasting” kinda thing & i feel bad for eating so much the day before but i always end up eating again before the day is over i never don’t eat for an entire day. I also don’t eat super healthy i eat a lot of greasy fried food/fast food cause its all my parents buy, but yeah is there anything i need to change or are there any diets i could do?

submitted by /u/caramb0la20
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/1NIDJtH

advice sought: what do you do if you have high cortisol / high stress / poor sleep?

Middle-aged menopausal woman who has been target weight a few times in my life but have spent most of my life 40-60lbs overweight. There are numerous reasons I've gained or regained weight, numerous blocks ... but the reality of my situation is I live in a household where stress and high cortisol are unavoidable, and I can't leave for another 3 years. I don't even remember the last time I had a restful night's sleep. I try to lose weight in all kinds of ways, but everything I read mentions high cortisol and lack of sleep as things you have to fix. What happens if there is simply no way to fix those particular problems for the time being? Should I just give up on weight loss??

submitted by /u/Oona22
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/w1sBfAV

Monday, March 9, 2026

Rapid weight loss for last 1.5 months

Hi thier i am 28 female, starting weight was 252 pounds current weight is 218 pounds. Since january 28th i started a 1500 calorie diet and i mean it varying day to day between a low of 1200 calories to 1500 hundred with about 1 cheat day a week above 2500 calories about once a week as a cheat day.

But i am starting to get concerned since my weight loss hadn't slowed down much at all since the first week. I essentially been loseing the same amount of weight of about 5 pounds per week since i started. I also want to not i am not physically active, i use a cane and walker and never generally walk more than a mile a day.

Should i be concerned about this or just keep an eye on it? Alot of my friend have notice the rapid weight lost to and have made concerned comments. But the last time i saw my doctor 3 weeks ago they didnt seem concerned at all.

submitted by /u/rosafox
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/laFI2dw

Did your weight loss progress surprise you at any given point?

I was 74kg and now 60 as a 155cm gal. Definitely lost weight and it’s visible especially in photos, not that I took too many. Mirror, well, different story altogether. When I picture myself I can definitely see that I did a but, but ultimately I looked the same. It’s hard to explain.

I just had my period and during period I always avoid mirrors. Hard pass! Most of my clothes is roomy, stretchy and basically hides my body. I can kinda see it falls a bit differently but that’s it. And I don’t have lot of clothes, I used to be 55kg few years ago and gained almost 20kg and that made me not wanna go and buy clothes at all. It was hard seeing bigger me and working from home there wasn’t any need. That extra weight really hurt my self esteem too.

Anyyyyways. It just so happened most of my everyday clothes was dirty and so I wore something different. Tight clothes, not like super tight but you can clearly see my actual body. Went in front of mirror and then it happened! It was like all my hard work paid off at once! I look different! I wouldn’t even mind it too much if I stayed this weight! I look kinda good???? My legs aren’t drumsticks, there is waist, my butt is a bit more lifted (well that’s cuz of gym I suppose but still!), and my face too!

I feel like I went somewhere away and came back, it’s me! Just a tiny bit older! I am sooo surprised that I cannot stop looking at myself. It feels so weird!

But how can it be? Like I was looking at mirror quite frequently, searching for progress be it clothed or naked and I could see it, but only a little bit. I even thought because I am few years older now I would need to reach 50kg to look the way I looked at 55kg. But now I see it! And it’s like everything went away at once!

submitted by /u/aWicca
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/HUEdYmi

Review my cut- please :)

Hi everyone,

I am currently in the process of getting into the best shape possible for my wedding :) I started off at 137 lbs in January and currently sitting at around 129.4 lbs. I walk 13-15k steps a day, gym 5 times a week. Cardio is 25-30 min stairmaster or run 5x a week. I am currently on a coaching plan eating 1600 calories (I am 5’8). However I really seem to struggle with 1600 calories, I am really hungry all day. Because of this i have been snacking more on extra veg and meat, so i am probably sitting more around 1750 calories per week which has slowed down my weekly weight loss to 0,44 lbs a week.. I still have 10 weeks to go for my wedding and the diet fatigue is slowly creeping in.. i still want to have visible ab definition that will require another 6 lbs to lose.. any advice? :(

submitted by /u/Kaiserpanda1
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/dFyOA7c

Sunday, March 8, 2026

★OFFICIAL WEEKLY★ Medication Mondays: Tales of Transformation – Discuss Your Weight Loss Drug Journeys!

In our weekly recurring thread, "Medication Mondays: Tales of Transformation," we invite users to openly share and discuss their experiences with weight loss medications. This dedicated space aims to foster a supportive community where individuals can exchange insights, challenges, and triumphs related to their weight loss journeys. Whether you're currently on a medication regimen, considering it, or have successfully navigated this path, this thread serves as a valuable resource for gaining diverse perspectives and guidance. From sharing dosage details to discussing lifestyle changes and potential side effects, participants can engage in constructive conversations that empower and inform. The collective wisdom shared in "Medication Mondays" not only builds a knowledge base but also creates a sense of camaraderie, fostering a community that understands the nuances of using weight loss medications.

This is not a space to seek out medications without appropriate prescriptions or discuss using the medications in a way that violates our "No Promoting or Encouraging Unhealthy Weight Loss Methods" rule.

submitted by /u/AutoModerator
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/PC5OuW8

So close to my goal weight—here's my next steps! (I have no one to share this with, so I thought I'd share it with y'all. :)

28F, 5'3"!

July 2024 to Nov 2024, I went from 185lb to 166lb on 1800 calories a day. (2300 was my maintenance.) This was my first weight loss journey, so when I hit a plateau at 166lb and my weight didn't budge, I freaked. I dropped calories to 1750, then to 1650, and followed that very loosely. I went from strength training 2x/week to 3x/week. No budge. So in Feb 2025, I said fuck it, put weight loss on the back burner and tabled it for later.

Looking back now, it's so clear that:

  1. Lowering my calories primarily didn't work because I wasn't consistent with the 1650 at all 💀
  2. I just needed a maintenance break! Both physically and mentally

So, from Feb 2025 to July 2025, I took a maintenance break totally on accident, just from being frustrated by my plateau. I even stopped strength training. Thankfully, my eating habits had changed enough that I didn't gain back, and I was shocked to see 160lb on the scale in July 2025. 😳

July 2025, I try a new deficit since I'm smaller: 1550 calories a day. That was 33 weeks ago, and I've only lost 23lbs since then (currently 137!) Why? Well...

  1. A few vacations sprinkled in there and mini maintenance breaks sprinkled in there (like Thanksgiving week lol)
  2. I made a few mistakes in my calorie counting along the way. For example, I used Chipotle's calorie counter and thought I was eating fits-within-my-daily calories burrito bowl until I took one home one day, weighed it on my food scale and realized it was 400 cals over what I thought. 😳 Incorrectly guessing cookie calories from the bakery, stuff like that.

Yet, I'm still not stressed! I have a 2-week maintenance break planned from tomorrow to mid-March.

After that, I'll hop back on a 1500/day deficit, lose average 1lb a week for 10 weeks, strength train 3 times a week + 4 mile walks every day, and I'll be at my goal weight of 125lb by June 1st. :)

Let's do this!

submitted by /u/Historical-Care70
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/dWYVsr4

How much did your bra size change?

I've lost over 30 kg (~70 lbs) and it's time time to admit - my old bras don't fit. I still have like 15 kg (~35 lbs) to lose. I'd be interested to hear how much the bodies of others changed.

Also, I always thought I wouldn't get self-conscious about the "side effects" of weight loss but I'm starting to doubt that. I'm self-conscious even about the shape of my chest area and how it has changed. How lose the skin is and how my breasts hang even though I'm only around 25 and I've never used big bra sizes. All the stretch marks that are now so visible.

I'm not even sure what my size is or was. I think at my biggest it was like 85-90D (~US 38-40C?) Now it's somewhere around 85B/80C/75D (~ US 36B?) I'm not committing yet to any certain size and I've gone bra shopping in second hand stores for this reason (you can find good brands and not used bras there! also cheap, since I have 15 kg left!). I might be totally off with the sizes. I've only recently started to look for new ones as I can't fill the old cups anymore...

Few months before I started the journey, in 2024, my bust size was 107 cm / 42 inches. 100 cm / 39 inches band size. Now the numbers are 94 / 37 and 80 / 31.5 . (Okay, these numbers make me feel like proportionally I might be gaining but it doesn't mentally feel like it when I look at the mirror.)

Any experiences? How do you feel about the topic? (Please feel free to use any units or systems.)

submitted by /u/CoconutNo7065
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/rNRAZhC

How much does drinking little water impact weight loss?

I’m (f,27) very bad at keeping my body hydrated. On most days, if I add up everything I drink — including water and coffee — I probably only reach around 0.5 to 1.25 liters in total. I know that’s not much, but the problem is that I almost never feel thirsty, so drinking just doesn’t cross my mind most of the time. Hours can pass before I realize I haven’t had anything to drink.

Since January, I’ve been trying to lose weight and build healthier habits. I’ve been pretty consistent with my routine: I make sure to get around 10,000 steps a day, and I also track my calories to stay in a deficit. Despite that, the progress has been extremely slow, which has been a bit frustrating. I expected it to be gradual, but sometimes it feels like the scale barely moves even when I’m doing everything “right.”

Recently someone mentioned that my very low fluid intake might be part of the reason my weight loss is slower than expected. That made me wonder if drinking so little could really have that big of an effect. I always assumed that as long as I’m in a calorie deficit, weight loss should still happen regardless of how much I drink.

So now I’m curious: can being chronically under-hydrated actually slow down weight loss significantly, even if you’re eating fewer calories than you burn? Or is it more likely that the slow progress is just normal and unrelated to how much I drink? 😅

submitted by /u/Rare_Strawberry2498
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/U6qgA0i

Saturday, March 7, 2026

Change in weight loss pattern means I need to readjust deficit?

So I’m 38F 5ft3 and currently 215lbs. I’ve lost 65 lbs since June of last year where I’ve used the loseit app to track my calories and calculate my deficit. This whole time I’ve used lightly active as my activity level and set my deficit to lose around 1.5 lbs a week. I walk on a walking pad 5x a week and get 10,000 steps 5x a week and take the weekends off. Up until recently, like the last month or so I’ve been feeling very discouraged and my weight loss patterns seemed to have changed. I won’t lose anything one week, then lose 2-4 lbs the next. I’ve have been holding off putting my activity level as sedentary because it will put me at 1200 calories during the week and I just don’t think I can do that at this point. Am I just not trusting this process or do I need to change my deficit to be more restrictive to lose more consistently? I know us short girls get less calories but I feel like I’m far from having to be at 1200 already. Thanks!

Here’s my last month weight loss

Mar 2, 2026

215 lbs

Feb 23, 2026

218.0 Ibs

Feb 16, 2026

218.0 Ibs

Feb 9, 2026

222.0 Ibs

Feb 2, 2026

222.0 Ibs

submitted by /u/Remy3188
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/a3EhiON