Wednesday, March 25, 2026

getting started!

hi everyone! basic info: i’m 24f, 5'6", 215 lbs (bmi around 35). my goal is to get back into a healthy bmi range eventually but i’m not putting a strict timeline on it.

i used to be around 150–160 lbs until 2021 when i gained weight quickly because of antipsychotic meds. i’ve been off psych meds since april 2025, but with life stuff (including a death in the family) i’ve had a hard time finding the motivation to really work on losing weight.

lately i’ve been having more back and knee pain at the end of the day, which is one of the main reasons i want to lose weight. other reasons are self-confidence, health risks, and honestly just wanting things like airplane seatbelts to not feel tight.

i’ve had phases over the last few years where i wanted to lose weight but never stayed consistent.

my main issue right now is i feel like i don’t really understand what i should be doing. i’ve read that a calorie deficit is the main thing, and exercise helps, but i don’t know how much to limit calories or what workouts are best starting out.

right now i’ve been going to planet fitness and doing about 10-15 minutes on the elliptical just to get some movement in and help my knees.

i’d really appreciate advice on:

  • how to figure out a realistic calorie deficit
  • beginner workouts that help with weight loss
  • what you eat on a calorie deficit with a really small budget
  • how you meal plan

any advice or motivation would mean a lot, thank you :)

submitted by /u/motherwishbone01
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/PICaL5i

Does walking count as exercise for short periods 3x a week? (Very Morbidly obese)

TL;DR: im 22f, 48 bmi, 5’2 and back on my weight loss journey after gaining 20 lbs back. I’m doing 10 minutes 2x and 15 1x a week

22f(US), 5’2, | SW: 275 (50.3 BMI) | CW: 264 GW: Not focusing on goal weight

I do lurk here a bit but I want to be more involved in this subreddit :,)

I’ve been big my entire life besides when I was under 5 years old. Below that I was super skinny, probably a little more than most kids my age then? But stuff happened, I gained a lot throughout my life and reached my highest of 275 lbs. I’ve tried losing weight before around 235 lbs like three years ago but I fell off. I’ve been going back and the cycle repeats.

But hey, no matter what I end up coming back even if it’s months later 🤷‍♀️

I decided i shouldn’t be so hard on myself because that’s what has been doing it. Making myself work out 5-6x a week for 15-20 minutes, not eating much. I think that’s why I kept failing and cycling back!

Lately I’ve made myself a little plan/map. 10 minutes 2x a week, 15 minutes 1x a week on no particular days, as long as I get in the exercise . It’s what my body can handle right now and yes I 100% plan on going further when I get more comfortable! But for now im focusing on consistency over time and trying to make it a habit rather than ‘I have to walk 15 minutes every day!’

I’m also working on portion control and well, I ate too much this morning for breakfast because I figured ‘it’s just sausage and egg it’ll be fine’ and well, I threw half of that up and wondered if that’s my body’s way of saying I just can’t eat that much anymore. I plan to get portion control plates to learn how to eat properly.

But is my plan fine? Is it okay to tune it up and rearrange stuff that I can’t do right now? Especially because of my current weight? I’m thinking too much about it but I’ve seen people bigger than me online do 10k steps a day and it gets me a little discouraged. But they’ve been doing it for a while so there’s that..

I also pace around my room and scroll on my phone sometimes to get in a little extra movement

I have ALWAYS dreamed of being under 200 and dressing how I truly want to because most clothes I love don’t come in my size! This is helping me a lot, the fashion side of it and overall health :) my ultimate dream is to do j-fashion type stuff and be able to fit into Japan sizes but that’s not where I am yet so, im focusing on small stuff :3. I love jirai kei, gothic lolita, black decora,dolly kei, that type of stuff:)

Anyways there’s my rant, sorry it was so long!!:,)

submitted by /u/Immediate-Land4913
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/PTpoIaY

Wish me luck, I’m starting my weightloss journey and this time I know I am going to be successful!

This community is pretty supportive and I’ve been a lurker for a little while. I wanted to share how I’m feeling about starting my weight loss this time, and why I feel convinced that this time will be successful.

A little bit about me: I’m 28F, 189lbs, 5’3 - this is the highest weight I have ever been. I have struggled with my weight ever since I was 8 years old, and I’ve always been up and down ever since.

Over the past 6 years, I’ve had several attempts at losing weight, but it’s always ended up with me gaining it back. I haven’t had the resolve to keep it up.

I’m very convinced I’ll be successful this time however, this is because I’m making it as easy as possible for me doing things that I know will work.

This time, I am going to be calorie counting. No IF unless it happens naturally, no OMAD, no consistent fasting, it just doesn’t work for me!! I can do it for a day or two but when I fall off of that, it stresses me out and I end up giving up. It’s just no good for me right now. Calorie counting is how I’ve lost weight the last time. It gives you room to be a little bit imperfect sometimes but keeps you on track.

I have chosen to choose 2 activities I will be putting my everything into for exercise, one is jumprope, which I’ve always loved doing at night. I love jumping rope in the evening in my back garden with my headphones in. The other activity I’ve chosen is deep cleaning my house. I am going to clean vigorously as I really enjoy keeping a clean space, and also it’s brilliant exercise!

That’s it.

No forcing myself to the gym yet because I don’t feel comfortable. I used to love going to the gym and running, but I’m just not at that place yet and that’s okay.

I think these are pretty realistic goals to keep. The other reason I feel like I will be successful is that for the first time ever the reasons are not aesthetic related. I’m far more concerned about my health. I want to keep my fertility, I want to improve my digestive system etc. I want to be more hormonally healthy and that will only come from weightloss. There is no other way.

I will be giving up sugar entirely. I don’t need it, don’t want it, and it helps me stay away from snacks and stay disciplined. If I falter a little on that, that’s ok because as long as I’m in a calorie deficit I’m ok.

I know this is it. I know there will be no other attempts after this one, because I will succeed. I’m absolutely convinced this time. For the first time the ego isn’t talking, I’m not hurt by other peoples comments about my weight (though I have been in the past). Right now I can take a look in the mirror and see that my weightloss journey will be mine, and mine alone!! It’s about me and nobody else.

I won’t be playing other peoples negative comments in my head for motivation. I won’t want to show anyone up. This time, it’s just for me. I want to be the healthiest happiest version of myself because I deserve to live like that. Not crying myself to sleep every night feeling lost and hopeless. I have been in a very, very dark place for a while now but I think things are changing for me now.

Wish me luck, and any advice would be most appreciated. Thankyou friends :-)

submitted by /u/itsgonnabeokay3690
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/KLibh5s

Tuesday, March 24, 2026

I’ve lost almost 20lb so far!

Hey everyone! So I started my weight loss journey in January, I am 19 years old and I started at 68.45kg I am also 5’0.

I struggle with disabilities which limit a lot of which I do so exercise has always been a huge struggle. I also have autism so am not the best with food apart from some safe foods.

However, I have officially gone from 68.45kg when I started on January 12th to today March 24th I am finally back in the 50s at 59.6kg.

I know for most I’ve probably lost this quite slow as I said I struggle a lot with exercise due to disability however I am genuinely so happy I’ve finally made progress!

I do have one question though and that being I still don’t see a difference in myself but people are always telling me I look like I’ve lost weight, is there usually a specific amount to lose before you start seeing it in yourself?

submitted by /u/Bulky_Tell_431
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/EplItDd

Weight loss tips for someone trying to lose less than 10lbs

Im not totally sure I’m at the right place but I’m just looking for help..

I’m 23f, 5’7 and weigh about 135lbs. I’ve struggled with my weight ever since I was 16 (because of a comment this boy made about my body). I’ve fluctuated, at this height, between 105lbs-140lbs. I’m seeing myself getting closer to my heaviest weight again and it makes me panic. I feel as though I have no control around food. I’ve recently gained weight pretty rapidly I think (in January I was about 128lbs and now I’m about 133-134lbs in the morning). It’s worth mentioning that I’ve dealt with EDs ever since I was 16 and now I’m in that phase when I tend to binge.. I’m not trying to go back to my unhealthy weight of 105lbs, but I’d like to stay in the 120-125lbs range but I seem to always fluctuate between 130-137lbs… I tried to calculate my recommended calories on these websites but every site gives me something different… I do weight training 4x a week (about 45 minutes each session, in which I do 5 exercises at 4 sets each). On top of that, I work about 30 hours a week at a job where I’m on my feet the whole time (cashier, packing carts, walking a lot, doing merchandise returns, etc…). If anyone here has some good knowledge, it would be greatly appreciated 🥹

submitted by /u/biigankles
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/qZC3UBN

aggressive weight loss tips for 145lb f26 5’4.5 - help me lose 20lbs

*Looking for advice from people who have done the same or similar loss at the same height if possible

edit: clarity

i am 5’4.5 or 164cm and 145lbs. my highest weight was 160 or more in covid but that was really a one off and ever since losing that weight i’ve been around 143-147lbs — however i have been unhappy with my body since i was a teenager and the lowest i’ve ever been able to get is 139.

my goal forever has been around 125. i’m reaching a point now where i am sick of this (started a sedentary job around a year ago and while i have been lucky to not gain weight, it’s definitely harder to maintain), my tdee while sedentary is about 1677 cal per day.

i want advice for an aggressive weight loss plan which is going to allow me to just focus for a few months and get this weight off. i am happy to do a regimented plan once the weight is off to get back up to maintenance.

i am happy to try eating 1200 cals per day, i have already been doing it on and off to see if i’m comfortable with it and i think it’s pretty sustainable if i don’t eat breakfast (i can just have a piece of fruit and a black coffee, i only sit at a desk). i walk to and from work which makes up about an hour and have been occasionally going on the treadmill for 1-1.5 hours burning around 300 cal - i als sometimes swim and lift small weights for my arms

looking for any and all tips - staying in deficit - do i log exercise - staying full - not losing motivation

thank you

submitted by /u/Kindly-Commercial-78
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/cPfyjQh

Monday, March 23, 2026

Help Me - struggling with weight loss

Hey guys,

So to give context I’ve spent years of trying various different methods of losing weight.

I’m not massively overweight, I’m fairly muscled around the top of my body but my stomach goes through crazy loops of varying size with bloating. I have the love handle man build so yeah it’s always been a stubborn area for me.

But the scales, man they never ever move from 88-90kg.

I’ve recently done very strict calorie counting. I’ve been keeping under 2000kcal per day (usually around 1800) whilst also exercising daily whether it be a run, a walk or going to gym.

Typical diet is porridge morning with protein, eggs, ostrich and potatoes for lunch then lean meat and veg go dinner. I’ll also have a protein bar.

I only drink water, I rarely have sugary foods and rarely have takeaways and rarely drink alcohol.

I’ve maintained this for over 3 months and I’m still the same weight.

What’s really annoying about this is I went to Australia recently and averaged 20,000 steps a day for 2.5 weeks - I wasn’t eating anymore than usual so I figured I should 10000% have shed some weight.

I really don’t know where I’m going wrong here. Honestly I’ve tried all sorts for over 5-10 years I just can’t seem to break it.

I really want to get to around 15% body fat (I’m around 22-24% I think.

Any tips here, has anyone had a similar struggle? Can you see anything wrong with my diet? Could I possibly be under eating with exercise?

submitted by /u/Free-Lifeguard1064
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/2kpQJwj