Thursday, March 26, 2026

Peri-menopausal and other health issues, how can I start losing weight?

Heya. So I have a very rare condition that's less than one in a million for my age group as far as I'm aware (premature ovarian failure). I was diagnosed with it at 16, started puberty for the first time that same year, and have been peri-menopausal since (I'm currently 19). Along with being peri-menopausal, I seem to have chronic stress, which I've read can impact hormones and thus impact weight gain/loss.

Currently? I walk about 10 miles a week, roughly 2 miles total a day, Monday through Friday just to get to and from my university courses.

TW: mentions of depression induced fasting/not eating in the past

Despite having been through a bout of severe depression where I wasn't eating more than 2 meals a day with dinner often being the only meal I had (think 250 calorie Belvita bar for breakfast or a wheat bread peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch if I did have two meals in a day), to the point where I had to be physically dragged out of bed (got carpet burns) by my older brothers, I didn't lose any weight at all during then. Back then, I was walking around about 4 to 6 miles a week. Since then, I've started making sure I eat meals and they're often pretty small though I have a pretty low metabolism.

I'm not sure at all how to start losing weight. Or I can even do so. I have heard of people with very similar hormonal conditions to mine not being able to lose weight with exercise and diet and having to go on weight loss drugs. My diet has improved decently, and I regularly eat rice, meats like sausage, turkey, ham, and spam, scrambled eggs, and some veggies like bell peppers and onions. This is along with soups that have beans and protein plus chili cans, and over the past two months, apples and oranges.

I'm not sure if I need to start doing more exercise beyond the ten miles. If anything, I think I've gained about 20 pounds since I've actually started eating meals instead of going all day with no food. I'm around 180 pounds now at 4'11 (149.86 cm ish). Ah, also I'm a trans guy. Please refer to me by he/him. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. In terms of diet, I'd strongly prefer recommendations on the cheaper side. Thanks.

submitted by /u/cuteymeow
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/DnRSUe7

Wednesday, March 25, 2026

Whey vs creatine?

Whey vs creatine

I 23f, has an history of ed, it was either starvation or little to no food, this made my metabolism collapse and i developed hypothyroidism by 16, i gained weight like alot - 30 kgs in just a year, I was demotivated all these years but now I want to change it but i don't have a proper guidance as I'm trying to workout from home, I've been doing cardio (an hour on cross trainer) for a month but i don't see much changes. I need advice to add suppliments as i'm easily fatigued without even doing much. I would add like some details for understanding.

I'm on medicine for hypothyroidism, i'm also on metformin 1000 mg twice a day, i don't have much protein as i'm still in college and food is expensive to me, i have insomnia which I've fixed about 30%, i need supplements for my fatigue, tiredness but also help in my weight loss journey, I'm doing cross trainer for cardio and strength training has been little to no right now as I have sprained wrist and can't lift. I can't buy whey and creatine together as of now so i wanna go with what's best, i don't want to ask Ai.

submitted by /u/gojosdump
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/Z9JYAc2

getting started!

hi everyone! basic info: i’m 24f, 5'6", 215 lbs (bmi around 35). my goal is to get back into a healthy bmi range eventually but i’m not putting a strict timeline on it.

i used to be around 150–160 lbs until 2021 when i gained weight quickly because of antipsychotic meds. i’ve been off psych meds since april 2025, but with life stuff (including a death in the family) i’ve had a hard time finding the motivation to really work on losing weight.

lately i’ve been having more back and knee pain at the end of the day, which is one of the main reasons i want to lose weight. other reasons are self-confidence, health risks, and honestly just wanting things like airplane seatbelts to not feel tight.

i’ve had phases over the last few years where i wanted to lose weight but never stayed consistent.

my main issue right now is i feel like i don’t really understand what i should be doing. i’ve read that a calorie deficit is the main thing, and exercise helps, but i don’t know how much to limit calories or what workouts are best starting out.

right now i’ve been going to planet fitness and doing about 10-15 minutes on the elliptical just to get some movement in and help my knees.

i’d really appreciate advice on:

  • how to figure out a realistic calorie deficit
  • beginner workouts that help with weight loss
  • what you eat on a calorie deficit with a really small budget
  • how you meal plan

any advice or motivation would mean a lot, thank you :)

submitted by /u/motherwishbone01
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/PICaL5i

Does walking count as exercise for short periods 3x a week? (Very Morbidly obese)

TL;DR: im 22f, 48 bmi, 5’2 and back on my weight loss journey after gaining 20 lbs back. I’m doing 10 minutes 2x and 15 1x a week

22f(US), 5’2, | SW: 275 (50.3 BMI) | CW: 264 GW: Not focusing on goal weight

I do lurk here a bit but I want to be more involved in this subreddit :,)

I’ve been big my entire life besides when I was under 5 years old. Below that I was super skinny, probably a little more than most kids my age then? But stuff happened, I gained a lot throughout my life and reached my highest of 275 lbs. I’ve tried losing weight before around 235 lbs like three years ago but I fell off. I’ve been going back and the cycle repeats.

But hey, no matter what I end up coming back even if it’s months later 🤷‍♀️

I decided i shouldn’t be so hard on myself because that’s what has been doing it. Making myself work out 5-6x a week for 15-20 minutes, not eating much. I think that’s why I kept failing and cycling back!

Lately I’ve made myself a little plan/map. 10 minutes 2x a week, 15 minutes 1x a week on no particular days, as long as I get in the exercise . It’s what my body can handle right now and yes I 100% plan on going further when I get more comfortable! But for now im focusing on consistency over time and trying to make it a habit rather than ‘I have to walk 15 minutes every day!’

I’m also working on portion control and well, I ate too much this morning for breakfast because I figured ‘it’s just sausage and egg it’ll be fine’ and well, I threw half of that up and wondered if that’s my body’s way of saying I just can’t eat that much anymore. I plan to get portion control plates to learn how to eat properly.

But is my plan fine? Is it okay to tune it up and rearrange stuff that I can’t do right now? Especially because of my current weight? I’m thinking too much about it but I’ve seen people bigger than me online do 10k steps a day and it gets me a little discouraged. But they’ve been doing it for a while so there’s that..

I also pace around my room and scroll on my phone sometimes to get in a little extra movement

I have ALWAYS dreamed of being under 200 and dressing how I truly want to because most clothes I love don’t come in my size! This is helping me a lot, the fashion side of it and overall health :) my ultimate dream is to do j-fashion type stuff and be able to fit into Japan sizes but that’s not where I am yet so, im focusing on small stuff :3. I love jirai kei, gothic lolita, black decora,dolly kei, that type of stuff:)

Anyways there’s my rant, sorry it was so long!!:,)

submitted by /u/Immediate-Land4913
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/PTpoIaY

Wish me luck, I’m starting my weightloss journey and this time I know I am going to be successful!

This community is pretty supportive and I’ve been a lurker for a little while. I wanted to share how I’m feeling about starting my weight loss this time, and why I feel convinced that this time will be successful.

A little bit about me: I’m 28F, 189lbs, 5’3 - this is the highest weight I have ever been. I have struggled with my weight ever since I was 8 years old, and I’ve always been up and down ever since.

Over the past 6 years, I’ve had several attempts at losing weight, but it’s always ended up with me gaining it back. I haven’t had the resolve to keep it up.

I’m very convinced I’ll be successful this time however, this is because I’m making it as easy as possible for me doing things that I know will work.

This time, I am going to be calorie counting. No IF unless it happens naturally, no OMAD, no consistent fasting, it just doesn’t work for me!! I can do it for a day or two but when I fall off of that, it stresses me out and I end up giving up. It’s just no good for me right now. Calorie counting is how I’ve lost weight the last time. It gives you room to be a little bit imperfect sometimes but keeps you on track.

I have chosen to choose 2 activities I will be putting my everything into for exercise, one is jumprope, which I’ve always loved doing at night. I love jumping rope in the evening in my back garden with my headphones in. The other activity I’ve chosen is deep cleaning my house. I am going to clean vigorously as I really enjoy keeping a clean space, and also it’s brilliant exercise!

That’s it.

No forcing myself to the gym yet because I don’t feel comfortable. I used to love going to the gym and running, but I’m just not at that place yet and that’s okay.

I think these are pretty realistic goals to keep. The other reason I feel like I will be successful is that for the first time ever the reasons are not aesthetic related. I’m far more concerned about my health. I want to keep my fertility, I want to improve my digestive system etc. I want to be more hormonally healthy and that will only come from weightloss. There is no other way.

I will be giving up sugar entirely. I don’t need it, don’t want it, and it helps me stay away from snacks and stay disciplined. If I falter a little on that, that’s ok because as long as I’m in a calorie deficit I’m ok.

I know this is it. I know there will be no other attempts after this one, because I will succeed. I’m absolutely convinced this time. For the first time the ego isn’t talking, I’m not hurt by other peoples comments about my weight (though I have been in the past). Right now I can take a look in the mirror and see that my weightloss journey will be mine, and mine alone!! It’s about me and nobody else.

I won’t be playing other peoples negative comments in my head for motivation. I won’t want to show anyone up. This time, it’s just for me. I want to be the healthiest happiest version of myself because I deserve to live like that. Not crying myself to sleep every night feeling lost and hopeless. I have been in a very, very dark place for a while now but I think things are changing for me now.

Wish me luck, and any advice would be most appreciated. Thankyou friends :-)

submitted by /u/itsgonnabeokay3690
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/KLibh5s

Tuesday, March 24, 2026

I’ve lost almost 20lb so far!

Hey everyone! So I started my weight loss journey in January, I am 19 years old and I started at 68.45kg I am also 5’0.

I struggle with disabilities which limit a lot of which I do so exercise has always been a huge struggle. I also have autism so am not the best with food apart from some safe foods.

However, I have officially gone from 68.45kg when I started on January 12th to today March 24th I am finally back in the 50s at 59.6kg.

I know for most I’ve probably lost this quite slow as I said I struggle a lot with exercise due to disability however I am genuinely so happy I’ve finally made progress!

I do have one question though and that being I still don’t see a difference in myself but people are always telling me I look like I’ve lost weight, is there usually a specific amount to lose before you start seeing it in yourself?

submitted by /u/Bulky_Tell_431
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/EplItDd

Weight loss tips for someone trying to lose less than 10lbs

Im not totally sure I’m at the right place but I’m just looking for help..

I’m 23f, 5’7 and weigh about 135lbs. I’ve struggled with my weight ever since I was 16 (because of a comment this boy made about my body). I’ve fluctuated, at this height, between 105lbs-140lbs. I’m seeing myself getting closer to my heaviest weight again and it makes me panic. I feel as though I have no control around food. I’ve recently gained weight pretty rapidly I think (in January I was about 128lbs and now I’m about 133-134lbs in the morning). It’s worth mentioning that I’ve dealt with EDs ever since I was 16 and now I’m in that phase when I tend to binge.. I’m not trying to go back to my unhealthy weight of 105lbs, but I’d like to stay in the 120-125lbs range but I seem to always fluctuate between 130-137lbs… I tried to calculate my recommended calories on these websites but every site gives me something different… I do weight training 4x a week (about 45 minutes each session, in which I do 5 exercises at 4 sets each). On top of that, I work about 30 hours a week at a job where I’m on my feet the whole time (cashier, packing carts, walking a lot, doing merchandise returns, etc…). If anyone here has some good knowledge, it would be greatly appreciated 🥹

submitted by /u/biigankles
[link] [comments]

from loseit - Lose the Fat https://ift.tt/qZC3UBN